Skydiving in Cairns


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
December 17th 2007
Published: December 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

FlyingFlyingFlying

Look Mom!
14, 000 feet above the ground, about to jump out of a plane and all i could think about was whether i should eat pizza or pie for lunch. That is until the plane door slid open and i was three seconds away from being thrown out with a complete stranger attached to my back. I've always wanted to do it, i've dreamt about freeflight in midair for a minute and i decided the time was now.
While Chris sat back at home worrying to death about me, i was flying in a bush plane with four strangers wearing lingerie and speedos, (don't ask me how i got paired up with these wackos). I looked out as we rose higher and higher over the reef and the beach. Somehow, i was randomly picked to go first which gave me the position of sitting right beside the plane door. My nerves were cool as ice on the way up and i felt as if this would be as easy as falling asleep. Then they opened the door. Whirlwinds hit my face at a speed my skin couldn't control. My legs began to vibrate at the same tune as the rest of the tiny plane. I looked back and gave a thumbs up to the guy in the santa hat. I heard a slight whisper in my ear, i quickly realized my skydiving assistant was screaming the countdown into my ear, "ready! set! Jump!"
Immediately i dove out with nothing but the biggest smile on my face, i'm not sure how many times i rolled until we finally steadied but i can tell you i had lost placement of my body parts. When the body is in free fall from 14, 000 feet in the air, it really doesn't seem like you're falling. When i looked down, the houses didn't seem to get larger and larger as i assumed they would. I actually felt like i was flying, and though your mind might want to stay as calm as it can...all your body wants to do is scream and curse as loud as possible without thinking. It's wicked.
It was one of the best feelings i've ever had, i can't describe it in full because it must be experienced in order to truly grasp the influence of it. I have never had such a beautiful view of anything in my life, and i've
The other skydiversThe other skydiversThe other skydivers

I was the only one not part of their group...i don't know how it worked out that way
never felt so close to being completely free. It's done now, and i have only my dreams to relive it. But i don't think i'll ever forget...and if i do...i'll have to do it again.
How ya going? from cairns

Evan


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Evan with the woman sky divers in his groupEvan with the woman sky divers in his group
Evan with the woman sky divers in his group

This was not my idea, i swear to god...they wanted to take the picture
The Bush PlaneThe Bush Plane
The Bush Plane

A little bit of a bumpy ride
Evan walking to the planeEvan walking to the plane
Evan walking to the plane

Gettin ready to jump 14, 000 feet out of the sky
In PositionIn Position
In Position

So pumped
Out the door and about to jumpOut the door and about to jump
Out the door and about to jump

So awesome at this point
Just out of the planeJust out of the plane
Just out of the plane

Its a little cold out there
Thats AirThats Air
Thats Air

Kinda Windy


18th December 2007

I dont even know what to say
Holy shit. I cant believe you actually did it. Those pictures look awsome. Dude, Im all kinds of jeolous right now. haha... looks like you're feeling better.
19th December 2007

oh my god wow evan wow that is soo awesome!!!!

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0307s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb