Closing the Book on Australia


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
December 14th 2006
Published: December 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

On Lisa Marie's recommendation, I picked up a book called Down Under by Bill Bryson, I was just sitting at the lagoon in Cairns reading the last chapter of the book and I noticed that this English couple with their two teenaged boys sitting next to me on the bench, were reading the identical book. We started to talking and commenting on how we liked his writing style, his humor and the information he provides...then we started talking about my trip and the wonders I had seen and sharing in the beauty that is Australia....seconds before that, I was reading Bill Bryson talk about arriving at some destination to marvel at some Tree Tops adventure and he marvelled at how it felt to sit and reflect on experiences with perfect strangers, such is the wonder of Australia. She's so far removed from the rest of the world, somewhat forgotten...but never by those who have been. I don't really want to leave, but Bali seems like a great location to overcome my loss.


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement

Sunset over Magnetic Is.Sunset over Magnetic Is.
Sunset over Magnetic Is.

as this sun sets on australian skies, so the sun sets on my visit here.


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0432s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb