My last week, in&around Cairns


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
December 6th 2006
Published: December 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It's weird, how in some kind of subconscious manner your mind prepares itself for going home.. It's my last week of this trip now, which I'll spend in&around Cairns. And I have to say I'm getting more and more used to the thought that I'll be home soon. It first seemed so weird, so far away, but that's changing slowly. I'm also slowly loosing the urge to go and see this and that, do this and that, it kind of feels like I've seen what I wanted to, done what I wanted to, I feel satisfied. This makes sense of course, since Cairns is after all my final destination, and as far as I'm concerned this trip was a huge success, so I can feel satisfied. Don't think I'm homesick, not enjoying my time here anymore, nothing from that. It's just, I don't know, My head starts to be more and more back home and less and less here in Australia. Of course that's also because there are so many things to look forward to when I'll be back..

But everybody who knows me a bit knows it's not me to just sit back and wait till the time is over, just relax a bit at the lagoon and for the rest not doing too much. In fact, I'm pretty sure that Emma would get pretty annoyed if she'd find out that the few days I have spent without her I suddenly learnt to do nothing, haha, that wouldn't be fair. Of course I'm able to take it easy, not having to move every two days or so, and that's really great. I love it to be in a place you know, to get your own little habits around here, have the time to do things for which there's normally not that much time, like uploading pics, writing emails, reading a book, etc. But I also wanted to see and do a bit more, which is not that hard here in Cairns, it's just that almost every trip you can go on costs you at least AUD 80 or so. Well, I had to do it a bit more low-budget, but I've done some nice things too. I've been to a art gallery, which had an amazing exposition, pretty cool and to the Cairns museum, bit less of a success, although at the other hand it was also funny.. This museum literally looks like it hasn't been renewed since the 50's or so, just lots of old stuff piled up, pretty funny. Another thing I've done was to rent a bike and see something more of Cairns. It turned out that Cairns has really some nice suburbs, some even with the old queenslander houses still being in use. And the lake area is very nice too, it was just annoying that exactly that day it rained a lot, grmmp, not that great if you're cycling and walking all afternoon. Well, I guess that's because soon the wet season will start. I reckon we'll see more rain in the coming days, not that I like it, but at least it's still warm despite the rain. Ow and a thing I really loved was the botanical garden. I'm not a big fan of all the flora things, but I found myself enthusiastically making pictures of way too many gorgeous plants ( I did erase quite a few, but still it might not be that interesting, guess my dad's the only one who'll be able to appreciate this folder on my gallery 😉. Made especially for you dad, wish I could have taken a few with me for the garden, but guess the customs wouldn't be to happy about that ). And today I've been on a little tour that showed us all kinds of nice spots around Cairns, like forests, waterfalls, beaches, etc. Was heaps of fun, as the Ozzies would say, a very informal tour with not too many people.

So, what's on for the rest of the trip? Tomorrow Emma and Marc will be back from the resort, guess we'll have a relaxed day, and Friday probably on a reef trip. Then a little tour to the Tablelands this weekend if everything works out well, from which we'll return Sunday evening, last night of sleep in cairns for me, and then I'm going home.. The trip to which I've been looking forward for ages will already be on his end then, and I don't have a clue when I'll ever be able to make such a long trip again.. Weird thought, ey??...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0945s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb