What a muggy day!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns
June 2nd 2005
Published: January 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

An overcast day
Cairns is a touristy town
Real humid outside

Today was a pretty uneventful day. I cruised around Cairns a bit and ended up going to the mall because I wanted to post some stuff that I don't need any longer but can't bear to throw out. Sending stuff by seamail is relatively inexpensive. I think I ended up sending about 3.5 kilograms home for about $35. Mind you it will take about 8 to 12 weeks to arrive but no worries since I won't be home until about November!

I hung out with my dorm mate Lynn. There are only three beds in our dorm and the third bed has been empty the last two days...pretty nice! Lynn is from Scotland and has been telling me some things that I should see and do when I'm there in July. She's really nice. She's been in Australia for about 4 months and is dying to get out of Cairns because she's been there too long and doesn't want to spend any more money. Plus she is set to go to Brisbane on Friday where her boyfriend will be flying in from Scotland (with chocolates and gummies) to meet her. I also got to hear about some of the fruit harvesting experiences she's been getting. Now some of that seems like a lot of hard, grueling work!

Lynn and I went over to P.J. O'Brien's to take advantage of the free meal offered by our hostel. The free meal is pretty small but they have upgrade options for an additional five or six dollars that are pretty good. I haven't had a Caesar Salad in ages so went for that.

I also went and booked myself onto a tour to see the Great Barrier Reef and just hope the weather improves because it is currently raining! I figured if I didn't get myself out to see the Reef I'd regret not being able to see it with my own eyes!

Then I ended up on the internet before hitting the sack. See, I told you it was a pretty uneventful day!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1011.3kb