On The Road


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
February 11th 2013
Published: February 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

After the 6th flight of this trip, ie from Bali to Cairns via Sydney my Rohloff gears have sprung an oil leak. This could be temporary and just related to temperature changes in the aircraft hold or if I'm seriously unlucky the seals have gone and that's 'armageddon on wheels' Requiring a train ride to Brisbane to fix. I'll find out in the next couple of days.

I'm now back under canvas after 7 months. I hope to sleep better than on the plane last night. Nothing else to report I think that's more than enough for 1 day.

Nick/Cyclopath

Advertisement



11th February 2013

Welcome to down under
Bali to Cairns via Sydney? Convoluted indeed. Considering the km's thus far without too much bike trouble - you could consider the bright side and feel fortunate. The other way of seeing this is that complex stuff tends to be complex (and expensive) - Rohloff gears might satisfy that (those) criteria. If the worst comes to pass - and you do have to fly to Brisbane - then we will be fortunate to see you sooner than later. Good luck with all that. Michael
12th February 2013

Traintime
Mike, if the worst does happen I think I'll take the train. Boxing the bike for a flight is a lot of hassle and proving to be potentially problematical. The last flight home from Melbourne won't matter as I won't have to reconstruct the bike at Heathrow as I've had to after each flight out here. But yes it would further shorten the ride.. Nick

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb