October 30, 2009


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
October 30th 2009
Published: October 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I went to the Great Barrier Reef today!!

It was very cool. I went snorkeling and got to see tons of coral and fishies. They were some cool colors too - bright green, orange, brown, blue, etc. The coral was all kinds of weird shapes and so shallow my fins would hit it as I swam over it. The water was really rough so it took a lot of energy to swim around though. It's also fairly far away from the main land. We got up at 6 am, ate breakfast, and got ready to go. We got there at 8 and got on board. Listened to a lot of talking about safety procedures and such and got underway. We didn't get there until 11:20ish. So I got in then and snorkeled around. Then ate lunch and took a break and got warmed up by the sun. Got back in and snorkeled a bit more and then laid out on the deck. It was sunny for about half the time and cloudy the other half. It rained a bit at the beginning and end as we made our way back to town. I'm not burned at all - actually I'm not even really tan. I reapplied sunscreen 3 times because I was worried about getting burned and I guess it paid off!

I just went and grabbed dinner and stuff for packed lunches the next couple of days. I tried to study for my final as well (which is Monday at 9 am!). I think I know a lot of it now, so I hope I do alright. I'm so tired now. We have to get up at 7am tomorrow. A little later than last time but oh well.

Alright, have to go. Will try to write more later!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0583s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1010.5kb