Kuranda & Tjapukai


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
September 26th 2007
Published: September 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sky railSky railSky rail

Sky rail going over the Rain Forrest so high
Well im still here and loving every minute, on Monday the weather was wet I was not impressed so I popped myself onto the bus 1X and went to visit the rain forrest (how apperote) I got onto the skyrail which travels over the rain forrest in total it takes 45 minutes to travel across the top at a very very very high distance yes I was scared but it is the only way to see it at the beast view. Thier were 2 stops on the way over to a town called Kuranda 1st one you could walk around and look at the rain forrest, 2nd stop you looked at how they used to travel over which all begain with just a piece if wood attached to chains, then moving onto wood and a couple of sides it looked so scarey, then eventually they added a metal cage which must have been where they got the idea for the cart that I was traveling on. Also the workers would load up a trolley that ran on gas hydrolics, which on acasion the gas would stop working and they would have to sit their and wait for the presser to build
Sky RailSky RailSky Rail

Fab view
up before they could continue to travel. aaahhhhhhhhhhThe visters center was intresting I learnt that I knew nothing about the rain forrest 0 out of 7 every time. RUBBISH. Arriving in Kuranda the village was lovely and sweet I just walked around for a bit then put myself through some more tourture by traveling back over on the cable cart. what a fab day.After all this excitment I went to Tjapukai which is an Aboriginal cultrail center which was lots of fun, 1st stop you watched a show of how they would all dance play their intrustments, They explained there body paint and what there names all meant. 2nd stop medican and foods of the forrest, some of the foods looked and smelt horiable but had many good uses, here in Cairns the hosiptals are trying out some buss medican to see if its better than modern medican, 3rd stop spear throwing and bomerang throwing I was RUBBISH at both, some of them guys could throw for miles in a dead straight line so fasanating, 4th & 5th we watched shows on how thier ancesters servived we were not very nice to them back in the day, all in all I feal I gained alot of info today I am getting cleaver by the day ha ha.Take a look at the fab phots


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Sky RailSky Rail
Sky Rail

The Gourge
Female AboriginalFemale Aboriginal
Female Aboriginal

This ladt talked about medican & foods of the forrest
MeMe
Me

Sleeping in the wild on the camp


26th September 2007

Kuranda...
Ah I never got a chance to go there...I really wanted to go on that cute little railway though! The aboriginal culture and history is so interesting...glad you're soaking up all that important Australian information that not many people know about! xx

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0823s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb