You win some, you lose some!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
February 27th 2007
Published: February 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Soooooo...where do i start?!
Get picked up by Cairns dive centre, pretty pumped and ready to go! Fill out heaps of paperwork, boring boring, watch some videos about the equipment, boring boring, rig up all the breathing equipment and stuff- all good.
Have a 10 minute treading water test and 200 metre swim test- all good.
Do some snorkelling with the mask thing on and fins...hmmmm "laura, u seem to have naturally boyant feet"...my feet kept floating to the top. Ok, so i don't have the hang of this! Oh well, its pretty fun.

Get fitted with the huge cylinder of gas on my back...breathing through that tube is a bit weird- in and out of your mouth? whats that all about then?! So we go underwater with this thing on...and im like...ARGH BUBBLES...wait...its all up my nose...blegh. Its really not comfortable. Oh well, keep going............yeh ok, this isn't so bad if i relax.

Then the instructor dude goes under and shows us what we have to do (underwater). we have to knock our mouth breathy thing out of our mouth then save it again....this process is quite frankly horrible and quite frightening...and thats just in a swimming pool! *Is thinking the whole time...i've gotta do this in the ocean, and i only have this much air on my back!*

But anyway, i complete the tasks...after swallowing almost an entire swimming pool full of water...and still getting it somehow up my nose?!

Next task is to fill our masks up with water, then empty them...all underwater. You're meant to somehow empty it by blowing out your nose. I tried this about 4 times, each time just getting more water up my nose and forgetting to breathe through my mouth and panicking about running out of air at the bottom of the ocean...so...i quit!

No more diving for me!

You win some lose some, I've won a lot more than i've lost out here...so im not downhearted! It means i have 3 spare days to play with...Im gunna go "jungle surfing" where u fly through the trees in the forest on zip lines! I can't wait! I wanted to do it as soon as i saw the leaflet but was too low on days!

I will be seeing the barrier reef though- im going on a yellow submarine tomorrow...so hopefully get to see some little fishies, just from a lot drier and safer perspective!!!

That's all. No exciting underwater photos from me im afraid but...im happy! 😊

love x

Advertisement



27th February 2007

Never mind flower
Hi Lovvie- God you make me laugh - only because that is exactly what I would be like too!!!! Anyway I prefer the drier way to look at the fish. The Zip wires sound fantastic. Go have a great time . Enjoy. Take Care . Missing you loads. will tel the Brownies all about you tomorrow. karen xx x x x

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0504s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb