Over long Easter weekend


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Bundaberg
April 10th 2007
Published: April 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Golden SnapperGolden SnapperGolden Snapper

Fisherman on Hervey Bay Wharf
There is nothing like taking a holiday whilst on a holiday...

I left the beautiful Sunshine Coast for a trip to the City most famous for its' Rum and Ginger Beer. Bundaberg!
Kevin was going up for the Queensland Brass Band competitions so mum and I tagged along for the ride.
Kevins family is known Nation wide for their talent in Brass instrumentals so ofcourse most of the Radfords were there, and no great suprises that their Band won ALL the awards... Congrats! And It was a great way to meet the unbeknown extended fam (Radfords) at Sizzlers restraunt after the long day of travel up from Nambour.

Biggest highlight of the trip was catching up with favourite family friends from the days of living in Darwin, Peter Charles and lovely wife, May - "the boss" (as Peter makes clear).
I was privelidged to spend a night at their P&P (like a B&B, but People and Pets) where they also run a dog motel, Doggy-heaven style. The dogs roam free, no cages involved, and sleep inside at night time on the bed WITH Peter! NUTS I say, but we already knew that...
Only this man would buy a
Prince charming?Prince charming?Prince charming?

As close as I found to a bunny this Easter
$3000 Coffin/Casket to use as a practical joke to scare his friends and the neighbours as he tows it round the old folks villas on the back of his Harley! Hehehe.
I like to refer to Peter Charles as a good Pirate. He has a deep, rough, and husky voice like pirate does, and always a bottle of whisky around. He is known as a man of many lives... should have died 9 times by now but keeps cheating his way through life.
Peter and May plan to sell up and then boat around the world on his 32 foot boat (for the umpteenth time) and this time I am invited to go with! I'm so excited at the thought! We will see where that all goes with time.

Next best highlight was a visit to Hervey Bay on the way back home. We had a beautiful walk out on the 3km long Wharf, originally built for the exporting of coal, sugar cane and Timber back in the early 1960's. It has been restored from then and is now just an icon that's great for fishing off.

That evening before the drive back to 'home' we were invited
Pirate PetePirate PetePirate Pete

Me and Peter and his boat
to dinner at Van and Ralphs place. Another couple I grew up with in Darwin, friends of family. It has been 12 years since I saw them last so what a pleasant suprise the whole evening was.
They put on a wee family trio, Van and daughter on Violins, and son on Cello. Followed by a grand tour of their 7 acre nursery, a traditional home made Thai dinner, and then the creme on the cake was their offer to GIVE us their Van they do not use any more. All it needs is a new battery, and break pads. Mum says it's my new van for times when I am in ozz, I'm so STOKED! Thanks guys so much.

Although I got no easter eggs, overall it was an unbelievably fun easter. I dont like chocolate any way so I was not in the slightest bothered.
Actually It skipped my mind completely untill Channel 7 interviewed me as I was taking a stroll down Bundy Beach when they asked me "How important is Easter to you?" and I suprisingly responded, "Oh, so it's Easter?, I totally forgot!" What a noofy...







Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Higlight of the tripHiglight of the trip
Higlight of the trip

Left to right: Me, Charlsie, May, Kath, & Kev
Tucka the leaderTucka the leader
Tucka the leader

Showed the way on our walk
Kev in his elementKev in his element
Kev in his element

walking in the sugar cane fields
Tralaa!Tralaa!
Tralaa!

Katrina and Natalie Radford at the brass band street marching comps
A lovely evenings endingA lovely evenings ending
A lovely evenings ending

Dinner with... (left to right) Ralph, Van, son, friend, Daughter, me, Mum, Kev


11th April 2007

Love From Your Bro Paul
Sounded like a lot of fun. I like the photo called prince charming. God Bless, Paul. :) :) :)

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0655s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb