Homework, Lunch, Battleships and The Valleys


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
June 18th 2017
Published: June 18th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Pancakes at Cafe Diversity Pancakes at Cafe Diversity Pancakes at Cafe Diversity

Banana flour with frozen banana ice cream, berries and almonds
So the past few days have been so chilled and lovely. From helping Tom and Jack with their homework assignments, subjects ranging from the Pantheon in Italy to the Industrial Relations Act 1999 and how it is related to the profession of Lawyers. I surprised myself by getting interested in it and Tom and Jack were very enthusiastic about my willingness to help proof read and type up bits for them. The next night was a family game of Cluedo - Ms Peacock on the Patio with the rope - it was tense.



Friday was a girly day, Kate, Emma and I went out for lunch to Cafe Diversity which is where Emma, Tom and Jack work. It was a lovely menu, in the end I opted for savoury pancakes which were glorious and even added a cheeky vanilla milkshake. After the meal we came home and Emma had to get ready for her placement and Kate took herself off for a nap before her night shift. Jack came home eager for something to do so we decided a game of battleships was the way forward. This later proved to be the longest game of battleships either of
Eyes and eyebrows by Emma Eyes and eyebrows by Emma Eyes and eyebrows by Emma

I am not very good at taking a photo of myself with eyes closed...
us had played (I had never played before but for some reason really wanted to - don't ask me why). But we fought through and in the end I managed to sink all his battleships so victory was mine.



Saturday - the first night out in Brisbane - the Valleys. Saturday morning and early afternoon was spent preparing for the big night out - Paige's 18th. The idea that I was going to an 18th made me feel very old and I have found out that I really can't party like I used to in Uni years. But anyway, Emma and I set out to her friends house where we did our make up in which Emma very kindly did my eyebrows and eyeshadow (photo to follow), she is a bit of a whizz in the make up department. From there we drove into the city to the apartment that Emma's friends had rented for the night. More getting ready took place, hair and clothes then we were good to start drinking properly. 9 30 we headed out to collect stamps from various clubs as entry fees increased through the night - 9 30 felt very early
Emma Emma Emma

All ready to head out
to me as a classic night at Uni or in Liverpool consists of catching the last train/ bus in or calling a taxi for 11 but I went with the flow. After going into various clubs and collecting stamps we got into a club called GPO, and we sat down, also a strange one for me. From then on the night was drinking, dancing and finding friends that kept wandering off. Nearing the end of the night I requested that we went to get food, being a generic english gal, cheesy chips were calling me, but alas they were nowhere to be seen so settled for some chips. We then went to a club to find people and in the process saw someone get arrested, another was being retrained and there was a fight that broke out. Having seen fights in clubs before I know the best thing to do is get the hell out the way, Emma on the other hand had not been in this situation before so as many other were she stood there shocked, I grabbed her arm and pulled her out of there. Always have to look out for my little cousin! We decided after
Emma Emma Emma

In Woolly Mammoth Club
that it was time to call it a night and at 4 am we decided to head back to the apartment. It was a sleep where you can kind of situation so I managed to snuggle up on the couch with a 'Doona' which after some confusion turned out to be the Australian word for duvet. I watched the sun come up and after nudging Emma at 8 that it was time to go as she had work at 12, we set off back to Redcliffe.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

View from the apartment View from the apartment
View from the apartment

Sun rising over Story Bridge


Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb