Finally Here!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Redcliffe
June 14th 2017
Published: June 14th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Packing the night before was probably not one of my best ideas, but so far so good! After setting off at 5:15am English time to get to Manchester Airport for my flight at 9:00am, safe to say I was knackered.



The flights were smooth, first leg was 7 hours to Abu Dhabi. After reaching Abu Dhabi and going through multiple security checks (including having to turn on all electrical items which meant my go pro which when turned on records straight away should have some amateur footage of an airport security lady staring into it), it was onto the next leg of the journey: Abu Dhabi to Brisbane.



14 hours on a plane next to an old couple, the woman had informed me right off the bat that she had taken half a sleeping tablet and she was determined to get some sleep. So stuck by the window I managed to get up a grand total of three times; my ankles are still waiting for the swelling to go down.



I arrived at Brisbane airport an hour late and later found out that my Auntie Kate who was picking me up had been waiting on the original agreed time, luckily my cousins; Tom and Jack; had persuaded her to have a go in the massage arm chair at the airport so I feel time was not wasted! Getting through immigration and marking down that I wasn't bringing anything into Australia illegally, nervous about the 1.5kg of Cadbury Fudge that I had in my suitcase, but all was fine and there was no need to worry! Phew! Eventually, after collecting my suitcase (which is always a relief to see it on the conveyor belt) I went through to the exit, greeted by three smiling faces which was so welcome after 25 hours of travelling. Tom and Jack had grown again since I last saw them - not a shock really as people do tend to grow when they are 15 - but still! Auntie Kate was looking fabulous and I was so happy to see them!



The journey back to their house went fast and as promised bubbles was waiting on ice for my arrival. After having tea and about 3 glasses later Emma arrived from her nursing placement, pretty sharpish I asked to see her new tattoo and she got herself a glass of bubbles and the catch up went on. A few more glasses later we decided to call it a night.

Advertisement



14th June 2017

Fab
Excellent! Great way to share and will be a good record for you in the future Looking forward to further instalments xx

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb