Brisbane, Australia


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
April 30th 2014
Published: April 30th 2014
Edit Blog Post

After not the biggest night we woke up feeling reasonably good, so we packed our stuff and jumped on the bus to Brisbane. As I packed I realised I had left my Bose Headphones and iPod on the previous bus which I was fuming with myself about! I rang the bus office, they hadn't been handed in and even admitted gear like that would more than likely have been stolen. Raging, so much for karma after I had given back an iPhone 5 that I had found just a week before... It was quite a shirt bus ride to Brisbane so we arrived in the afternoon and took the short walk to our hostel right in the city centre. We dropped out bags off and went for a walk around the city centre, crossed the bridge over the river and got some great photos of the skyline, which wasn't as big as I had expected. We walked along the gardens next to the river and came across a man made lagoon for people to swim in which I was amazed by, it was like a mini water park without the slides, really cool. It would be the perfect place to go to chill and swim at the weekends in the sun with great views of the skyline which made it even nicer. We then crossed the other footbridge, walked through the beautiful botanical gardens and back through the city to the hostel, I even found a 'Charlotte Street' so sent my sister a picture. We showered, changed and then the legend that is Colm, who we had met in brazil and travelled Argentina with, came to meet us and we went to a smart Italian restaurant. The food was good and Colm even bought the beers before we jumped in a taxi to a street full of bars with outdoor seating, it felt like a toned down Malia strip. We had a few beers and there was a lot of students out and about, there is a university around that area. It looked like a good vibe but we were all tired and Colm had work the next day so we resisted having a big night, said our goodbyes, Colm got a taxi and me and James walked 20 minutes back to our hostel. It was great to see Colm again and showed that the friends you meet travelling really are close to you.
In the morning it was that time again, pack our bags, check out and walk to the bus station with our big bags for our bus to our next destination, Noosa.
Brisbane seemed like a really cool city and from the short time I was there I definitely think I could visit again and maybe even live there for a while.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb