Living in Brisbane


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
September 22nd 2012
Published: September 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

I have now been living in the lovely city of Brisbane for a couple of weeks now. The whole experience has been amazing. I am livingwitha really sweet family that has a six year old son named Noah. He loves dinosaurs and legos I am constantly playin g with him to aviod starting my work. The food at my homestay has been delicous and I have the whole bottom floor to myself so all and all absolutely no complants about anything. To get anywhere in Brisbane I have to take the bus. The transportation system hear is unbelievable. Buses have their own bus lane so even in rush hoir the bus never sits in traffic. It is wonderful. The only downside to the whole situation is that to get to the bus stop I have to climb the biggest hill in the entire world. (no joke I feel like I am walking up the hills in San Fransisco, my calves looks amazing now though) My school the University of Queensland or uni as they call is here is unbeleivable. There are parts of the school that make me think I am walking through a Harry Potter movie. The school is huge there are about 40,000 students that go to school there. There is a palce called the Great Court which is a quad four times the size of the quad at my school. We sit in the quad everyday to have lunch. The weather here is fabulous, it hasn't rain yet and there is bearly ever a cloud in the sky.

There is currently a festival happening in Brisbane called The Brisbane Festival. It is a festival that lasts for three weeks at this place called South Bank, a hopping location along the Brisbane river filled with resturants, shops, picnic areas, the ferris wheel, and muesums. During the festival live bands play ever night and resurtants come to the area and sell their food. Also everynight there is a light show in the middle of the river. It is a spectacular show.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement




Tot: 0.694s; Tpl: 0.294s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.2922s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb