Adventures in Lamington Natinoal Park


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Lamington National Park
September 21st 2012
Published: October 15th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I had to wake up a 5 am this morning to catch the early 7am bus ride that would take us to Lamington National Park for our second field trip in the land down under. The two hour trip was filled with narrow windy roads for the last twenty minutes as we made our way up the mountain to Binna Burra lodge. The trip was full of long hikes everyday up to 17km each day that would be full of amazing rainforest plants (the wait a while vine, walking stick palm, epiphytes, lianas, strangler figs, Giant Eucalyptus trees and so much more), exotic rain forest animals (paddymelons, a 6 foot python, many birds, skinks,etc), dozens of waters fall, glow worms, spiders with trap doors instead of nets, and some of the most amazing views.



We stayed in nine person rooms. The bunk beds had three layers to them and let me tell you it was a little crowded. The cramped living situation definitely sparked some tension in the group by the end of the week. The rooms were freezing too. I would be extremely bundled up and then get into my sleeping bag and start burning up because it kept me so warm. The food on this field trip was amazing too. We were eating food cooked by the restaurant at Binna Burra lodge, and let me tell you it was top notch food. I would stuff myself at every meal because it was all so good. The best part was that I didn’t have to feel guilty about all the food I was eating because we were doing so much physical activity with all the hiking. The weather was fairly good, but it did rain one day when I was on my longest hike. During this hike we were walking over many stream on rocks that were all extremely slippery, I almost fell into the water a couple of times. Thank god that never happened.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb