Brisvegas


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
June 10th 2009
Published: June 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


So the Sydney lifestyle started to get on top of me and I felt it was time to leave with some good friends, so we decided that Brisbane was the best place for us to settle our heads after a few weeks of drinking and get down to some work. Its an interesting city as it is extremely clean and I thought Perth was clean with it having more open spaces than any other city in the world. Anyway the first day we arrived it was, yes that’s right raining! How did I travel half way round the world for it to rain on me nearly everyday I've been here? Anyway a few days after the weather started to teach me a lesson… that you should never doubt Australian weather even in winter. Now the sun has been shining everyday!

Our first call of action was to visit one of the tourist favorite attraction, the fake beach. I know it sound strange but due to Brisbane being built beside a brown river (as its locally known) there is no sandy beaches here so they decided to build one inland. We spend a whole three days lying in the sun where
Me, Myself and this stolen Koala Me, Myself and this stolen Koala Me, Myself and this stolen Koala

He is trying to rip out my jugular
my vampire like skin started to develop a colour closer to you humans. After these relaxing days I was nominated by our small group to be a make shift tour guide and explain about the sights and sounds of Brisbane using only my lonely planet guide. The city is full of interesting architecture although not half as interesting as Sydney and its bright lights and cheap bars.

In line with my vegetarian beliefs the group decided during the week that we would save a chicken from Nandos restuarant. With a massive group effort we were about to steal Chicken Stevens, who you will see in many of my photos. Welcome to the team Chicken Stevens

We made our way to Australia zoo where the late Steve Irwin once resided. We got to get close to Kangaroos and hold Koalas as the pictures might show you. The zoo was amazing and considering we had lost most of our morning due to Greyhound giving us the wrong train station to wait at we made it round after a few quick dashes. The highlight for me was feeding the elephants although they did look like they were going to keel over with old ages at any point.

That has been so far from Brisbane as I have been working here with some crazy children. A few I have been tempted to bring home with me. I think the next port of call will be Cairns in a few weeks time and possible a bit of hard graft for me on a farm. The next few days will bring a trip to Moreton bay (its meant to be extremely beautiful coming a close second to Frasier Island around these parts) and to climb a mountain outside of Brisbane but I will keep you informed. Breaking news: In line with my vegetarian beliefs the group decided during the week that we would save a chicken from Nandos restaurant. With a massive group effort we were about to steal Chicken Stevens, who you will see in many of my photos. Welcome to the team Chicken Stevens


Additional photos below
Photos: 94, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0699s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb