Wednesday May 14th-Day 83


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
May 14th 2008
Published: May 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today I was working again for Adrian. I met him at his shop for 8:30 where we loaded some panels on the truck and went off to the same site as yesterday. On the way I discussed all the money that he owed me ($700). I asked him when pay would be and what I thought I was owed. He explained how I am only paid 10 dollars an hour when driving between sites and 15 when we are onsite which I agreed was fair. And also no pay for lunch. Because of this my pay is now around $600. Once we arrived on the site I had to fix some of the holes, move some things around and once that was done put in the post. By the time we were finished it was about 1:30. He took me as close to town as possible to save me money on the bus ticket. I took the bus right into town and went to Woolworths to get some bread. I ended up getting to the hostel around 2:30. I grabbed a shower and on the way back to the room I got a call from AWX wondering if I wanted to work that night. Because I knew I wouldn't be working the next day I accepted.

I started work at 5:00 kitty corner to where the Woolworths is downtown. The job was internal demolition. I ended up getting an amazing easy job. One guy had to use a jack hammer the whole time and another guy had to move buckets of rubble out to the shoot. My job was to receive the buckets and dump them down a 5 storey shoot. I had a couple years experience earlier in life around grade 1 when throwing pea stones down the slide. This job was identical except on a slightly larger scale. I ended up working until 11:30. A pretty long day but very good use of the day. Tomorrow I have off to relax and catch up on sleep!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0897s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb