Day 22


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
March 13th 2008
Published: March 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today I woke up at 4:45, I'm getting better at waking up getting changed and going straight to the train station. I got to work at 6:02....still havnt made it to work on time. I am starting to get used to the job though which is good. Today I did many different jobs because machines kept breaking down and many of the permentant workers got the day off because of the lack of materials. Anyways I started off boxing salt licks, which was very difficult, because the machine making them is very fast and you are supposed to try to do it so that the machine does not have to stop. From there I went to a machine which dropped 25 kg of dry powder into a bag which I would have to put a tag on and make sure it went into the sewing machine perfectly making it look like a machine made them. From there I learned how to mix all the ingredients which was cool because that is what the permenant workers seem to be doing most of the time. I also got to go to the computer control room where they do the computer controlled mixing. In the "mill" there are around 15 different jobs that the labourers can do. The permenant workers (old people) seem to always be above where all the large silos are doing manual mixing jobs or something. By the end of the day I had done about 80 percent of the jobs which labourers could do. Today I also got a ride home with one of the guys from work who happened to live about 400 metres from the hostel. It was about an hour faster to get a ride with the guy who I will try to get rides with for the rest of the time at the job. Once back I went out for groceries with mike and also got my first paycheque for $305 which was for 4 days work. Not the best but a decent start. Once we got back I wrote the journals for today and the past three days.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0832s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb