Day 21


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
March 12th 2008
Published: March 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today I woke up at 4:35 to make sure I got to the train on time. As it turned out I was there by about 5 O'clock, but I ended up going to the wrong platform having to run fast to make the train. I ended up making it to work at 5 past 6. Today I swept floors for two hours and then worked with an automated box making machine for the rest of the day. The machine put out octagon shaped boxes which the lids and base were glued on. The machine was well designed and didn't really need people. The assembly line and some of the automated machines are not well designed however and breakdown frequently or get jammed. The box making machine got jammed tonnes but the reason I was working with the machine was because the glue they use to put the base and lid on with doesnt not dry fast enough to put the gunk in right away. Because of this I had to interrupt the line taking the boxes off and then stacking them in a space and then once finished stacking putting them back on the assembly line. It was actually quite fun for some reason I dont mind doing repetitive stuff for 2 - 4 hours after that I start doing weird things to stay amused. I also worked with other people who would come and help because there isnt much work to be done at the plant because some material they need they cant get very fast so they slow down production. I worked with one guy from the agency who was a Maori from New Zealand named Junior...yes that is his actual name, I checked his I.D. because I didnt believe him. He lives here with his girlfriend and is halarious and we spend the whole time just making jokes to pass the time as well as singing the worst songs we could think of. The best part of the day was at the end when the company had a health and safety meeting which I was allowed to go to lol. we ended up getting sheets which totalled about 20 and basically said in the case of a fire meet at the front parking lot. The rest of it was spent eating small slices of cake and drinking gatorade. People are so laid back here and it definatly rubs off on work. I ended up working from 6 until 4:30 if you want to consider a nearly 2 hour meeting which involved food work. I basically got paid around 17 dollars for the hour I ate cake and drank 2 bottles of gatorade. After that I just went back to the hostel and did what I normally do at night. I think I will try to stay at this job for a couple weeks if possible.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0917s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb