Brisbane


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
May 21st 2007
Published: May 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post


After my last entry I managed a great walk up to the lighthouse and around a couple of other walking tracks and passed the evening watching the Last King of Scotland at the hostel's cinema. This is officially the best cinema ever (even better then the one in Wanaka!). The seats are wide enough for 2 people and on the floor with reclined backs so you can lie down and watch the movie, brilliant! Film was also excellent too.

Saturday I got the bus to Brisbane in the afternoon and got my barings before venturing out on a very random night out with some guys from the hostel! Managed lots of dancing and chatting to locals who had been at the races all dat so those of you who have been can imagine how merry they were!

Sunday was a gorgeous hot day so I headed into the city. I actually did a walking tour from the LP which was great. Brisbane has some beautiful old (for Aus!) buildings and lots of leafy plazas. They sometimes haven't quite got the modern and old mix quite right, but hey I live in Sheffield, just look at the old Odeon! I went to the Streets Beach which is a manmade lagoon with a sand beach in the city centre and swam and sun bathed. As I got changed afterwards a 7 year old girl told me I looked burnt, whoops! Looked around some markets, visited the University's art museum and then chilled out in the Botanic Gardens. Met some friends from the hostel in the evening and watched a film.

I really liked Brisbane which surprised me as I had heard bad things about it, I imgine it's a nice place to live, and a great climate!

After the whirl-wind tour of Brissie it was time to head to Noosa!

x x


Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0668s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb