Brisbane day 1


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane
April 7th 2007
Published: April 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Got going straight away this morning, knowing tomorrow was Easter Sunday and hense like Good Friday Brisbane would decend into ghost town mode. So today was going to be the only day in which I could do stuff.

Caught the mini bus into town. It was a scorcher of a day and when I was dropped off, for some reason, depite being armed with my Lonely planet it took me ages to get my bearings.

Once finally worked out where I was going I head for the centre and on the way stopped off at the City Hall. I visited the city hall museum, which had an exhabition on Captain James T Cook (Explorer of places such as Australia, Tahiti, Hawai and New Zealand.) That was cool. Later went up the bell tower to sample views of the city. That was good fun too a I got to travel in one of those old style 1920s-30s open grill lifts.
The views at the top were nice but unfortunatly you couldnt see much of the river since all views had now been blocked out by much taller sky scrapers.

Later wondered down to the city centre and shopping mall/precinct. There were loads of "end of summer sales on" and since my birthday yesturday turned out to be a bit sucky I decided to buy myself a nice new T-shirt (also to replace the Chilean one some arse had pinched in New Zealand.)

The Centre is really nice (all pedestrianised.) with lots of Artistic structures and canopies to make your shopping experience that much more interesting.

Stopped for lunch at the shopping centre.

Later went for a walk down by the river (Brisbane river) and followed it round. This was very pleasent. managed to take in some of the botnic gardens and went across the goodwill bridge to south bank. The parks here were nice too, and even has a man made beach incorporated into it.

risbane is a nice city with plenty to do. Although much smaller then Melbourne and Sydney it does have the added bonus of having fantasic weather most of the year round. Unlike the other two cities it unfortunatlly has retained a lot of ugly post-war concrete (sort of post modern) block buildings.

After having taken a complete loop of the town. I caught the bus back to the hostel and then went to the supermarket for some supplies.

After cooking dinner I sat with some people had a couple of beers and watched Clerks two and some TV.

The only friendly person around wasnt really up for much as he had had some argument with his incredibly fit girl friend (they spent most of the evening sat on oposite sides of the room.)

Went to bed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



15th April 2007

So, no phonecall from Ferrari then...
18th April 2007

Birthday
Cheers Andy, but unfortunatlly what I'll do is put off my 27th till next year and celebrate it along with my 28th. Besides I've been telling everyone out here (mainly women) im 25. Sounds better.

Tot: 0.188s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 16; qc: 83; dbt: 0.151s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb