Staying with Laurel


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane » Kangaroo Point
June 29th 2006
Published: July 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ban NarBan NarBan Nar

This is the aboriginal guy I wrote about in my blog. What a dude...
A chance to breath

That is what my stay in brisbane felt like. You travel on the road for so many days that when you come into a new city and actually have a familliar face to greet you it is quite nice. I arrived after a long bus ride to see Laurel Shear waiting for me at the Greyhound bus station. For those of you who don't now laurel she is a girl i went to junior high and high school with back in Mill Valley. Funny thing is that the two of us were not much of friends when we were in school but since have developed a solid friendship. I stayed in brisbane with laurel for a total of 4 nights. Well, only two with laurel but then two more after she left to go on a little vacation up the coast herself.

As a team we did fun stuff like paint boomerangs and learn how to play the didgeridoo. We went to a small little aboriginal art gallery and beneath the building they held workshops in which you could do everything from paint boomerangs to create your own didgeridoo to learn how to play a
ConcentrationConcentrationConcentration

The problem with being a poor artist is that in order to accomplish anything creative you have to concentrate way too hard. I almost look as though i'm not enjoying the process. But in fact painting this boomerang was one of the best parts of Brisbane, if not the best.
didg. The aboriginal fellow that worked there named Bah Nar was a funny fellow. I don't know how else to describe the guy except that he was funny, just look at the picture. He definately got me excited to start learning how to play the didgeridoo. As many of you have read by now, I made a didgeridoo in Byron Bay so I have the tools to learn to play now.

Brisbane was a fun place to relax and chill out. Get my strength back for the trip ahead. This blog entry is short, but don't let that confuse the fact that I really loved Brisbane. It was one of my favorite cities in Oz and I'm jealous that Laurel gets to stay there and study for an entire year at art school.

Stay posted for more interesting stories
marcus


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Finished ProductsFinished Products
Finished Products

Laurel and I in our sexy aprons holding up our painted boomerangs proudly. Hard work pays off.
River BanksRiver Banks
River Banks

With the sun falling the city looked spectacular. This picture was taked from one of the many bridges across the river.


Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb