Wha'da Beaudie!!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane » Indooroopilly
January 9th 2006
Published: January 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Goo'day!!
Just a quickie to firstly see if this travel website thing works and secondly just to tell you alittle of what I have been up to.
I arrived in Perth last week Wednesday. Perth is amazing!! The beaches are just like Cape Town's except the water is cleaner and warmer - so in other words they are better than CT's!! The beach front is full of active people all day and the weather is wonderful - a nice dry heat and to top it off you could eat off the pavement the streets are so clean! So now I know why so many Saffers choose Perth when deciding where to live other than SA.
Everyone is friendly and the social scene is as good as anywhere I have been. We went to a place called Little Creatures Brewery which is a pub set inside a huge Brewery and make things worse the beer is GREAT! (a real Rich Chennells kinda place)
I then caught a ferry out to Rottnest Island which is about 20km of the coast of Perth. It looks like something out of the movie Pirates of the Carribean! I litterally took thousands of photo's (which I will post here when I get more time). With fishing rod and back-pack I hired a bike and set off to the Westerly point. It's about 12km around the whole Island. I found a nice little channel to throw a spoon, not knowing is there were any game fish at all, 5th cast and BAM, I was in!! JEEZ did this thing take off like a rocket - 100m, 150m, 200m - them all of a sudden CRACK! My 3 piece rod suddenly became a 4 piece - and that was that. Much the same as many other McHugh fishing stories.....

I'm now in Brisbane (arrived yesterday) and have started looking to buy a car which I should have by the end of the week. I already have a free ticket to the ODI at the Gabba on Sunday (picked up from a guy I met in Perth) So keep your eyes peeled as I will do my best to get on the tele! Am doing the XXXX Castlemaine Brewery tour tomorrow and maybe a few other sights around town. I then plan to start my voyage up the coast of Queensland next Monday in search of work and some more fishing stories.

Cheerio

Mike

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0737s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb