Voyager of the Seas 5th March 2016


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
March 3rd 2017
Published: March 3rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

It is a year ago that we embarked on another cruise journey, this time on Voyager of the Seas to Airlie Beach, Brisbane and Willis Island (Queensland Australia).

This cruise was very different for us, for 3 reasons:


• we booked it at the ‘last minute’ in the end of January, usually I plan for months before going on a cruise, but the timing was right and the price was right so we booked it.
• it was our first cruise as Royal Caribbean Diamond members - among other perks, we would now receive free alcohol form 5pm - 830pm everyday!! Yahoo!!
• I had created a facebook chat group for this cruise, I had been in a few of these groups before and helped out with admin duties but I had never created and run one myself, let me tell you, being an Admin and dealing with 500 people’s opinions and issues is a time consuming and thankless job. Does anyone else think that since we live in a new online society everyone is even more opinionated? To me it seems that saying something rude to someone by typing it is ok, but saying it to their face is a

Playing 'Mystery Drink' with the barman in the Diamond Lounge
different story. Still not sure why I continue to create and run these groups, I reckon it is because I like to help people, but Hubby thinks it is because I like telling people what to do.In saying that we met some lovely people through the group, and 90%!o(MISSING)f the members were really friendly. It was on this cruise and via the group that we met Felicity and Andre, a very nice couple from Hobart, so when we are in Hobart we always try to meet up with them.


The journey didn't start out the best, as we turned up to our accommodation for the night before and they had double booked our room, so we quickly jumped online and found a way nicer room in Sir Stamford Circular Quay we were so lucky, it could have been a very stressful and costly situation, just proves that no matter how organized you are, THINGS WILL GO WRONG!

The ports of this itinerary are very interesting. Airlie beach is the gateway to the Great Barrier reef and Whitsundays and you access the town via tender and it is very very humid! We chose not to get off the boat at this port, which I am sure you will see this is something we choose to do regularly now. Willis Island is a tiny little island further than the Great Barrier reef in the Coral Sea (here is the link to Wiki), it is a little weather station and somehow scenic cruising around this island entitles the ship to sell duty free alcohol, cigarettes and other items. Listen out for the commentary from the island’s pilot (a specially trained navigator that boards our ship to help guide through the reefs and ports anywhere all over the world). Brisbane to me is a disappointing port to visit on a cruise ship, especially one of Voyager’s size as you have to dock at the grain terminal about 50minute trip via coach to Brisbane city centre. The outlook is not the prettiest and you have to pay approx. $25 USD per person for the coach transfer which quickly adds up. So needless to say, we stayed on the ship in this port also!! Haha.

What can I say about Voyager? Wow springs to mind, Voyager is certainly one of my favourite ships largely because we were married on this beauty. I love the Diamond Lounge, the Tavern, High Notes, Dining Room, La Scala Theatre, Star Lounge and the Promenade. All of these would feature on “my dream ship”. However, I personally feel that the Schooner Bar and Solarium on Voyager are not my favourite, I much prefer these two locations on Radiance Class ships. We have been on Voyager 5 times from memory, so you will hear more of this ship!

We are celebrating the anniversary of our Voyager of the Seas cruise on the 5th March 2016 with another cruise on Voyager on 5th March 2017. However, this time it is 10 nights and heading to the South Pacific Islands, with my inlaws, wish me luck eeeeek!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0458s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb