Jumping Out of an Airplane and Other Fun Activities


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
October 1st 2016
Published: October 1st 2016
Edit Blog Post

Spring break here in Airlie is sadly drawing to a close, but I must say I am more than happy with how wonderful this week was. On Thursday, my friends and I decided to check something off the good ol' bucket list, and we went skydiving. And it was absolutely indescribable (but nevertheless, I will try). The employees were so nice and welcoming, making the experience that much more enjoyable for us. We waited around for a bit, making sure everyone was safely settled into their harnesses, but once we got into the plane was when the real fun started. The view from up there was amazing! We just kept climbing higher, and higher, and higher still, and once we were completely immersed in clouds was when the panic really set in for me. I knew there was literally no going back now, I was falling out of this airplane whether I truly wanted to or not. Jasmine and Audrey jumped before I did, and seeing how their bodies dropped out of sight like a ton of bricks was even more terrifying. Before I knew it, I was on the edge of the door, sitting with my arms and head tucked just like they told me. Next thing I knew, I was free falling through the clouds 6,000 feet above the earth. And no, that isn't some cheesy metaphor. It was a little overcast that day, so we were legitimately tumbling through clouds. But once those clouds broke, you could see all of Airlie, the ocean, the mountains... it was breathtaking. I've never been so amazed, or felt so free and happy. Watching the video, taken from my tandem jumper's Go-Pro, I have literally never looked so happy before. Now I understand why skydiving tops nearly everyone's bucket lists! The adrenaline rush is unlike no other, it's a completely liberating experience. Afterwards, I was standing in the field like, 'oh my god, I just fell from the sky'. Seriously, who's idea was it to jump out of a plane? I'd like to thank him, but also question his motives...

Skydiving consumed most of Thursday, but that night we made our way into the town. The bars are full of young adults, assumedly fellow spring-breakers, and it was incredibly fun. Not to mention, drinks are cheaper here, so I wasn't simultaneously going broke while trying to enjoy myself. One bar was having a huge karaoke night, which was quite amusing to watch. But of course when someone signs up to sing Sweet Caroline but then doesn't show up on stage, the girls from Boston have to get up and sing the anthem to all Red Sox seasons ever. It was just as fun as it was embarrassing!

Friday was much more relaxed than the previous day (no expelling ourselves from aircrafts). We meandered into town around lunch time, got some nice cold brew coffees and lounged around the lagoon for the afternoon. It was a perfect setting to lay back in the sun and read Eat Pray Love, which is igniting some serious wanderlust within me... (Next stop India? Perhaps Thailand?? Stay tuned!) After our lounging, we decided we absolutely needed to end the afternoon at the little Thai massage place in town. And it was so worth it! Who knew my 18 year old shoulders could harbor so much tension and stress???

Saturday was the big day. We spent the whole day taking a boat tour of the Whitsunday Islands, including a few snorkeling and beach stops. The beaches we saw were incredible! Whitehaven Beach, our first stop on Whitsunday Island, the biggest of the 74, looks like a beach you would see in a magazine ad or a commercial. Or on Google Images. Or in some vacation themed rom-com. White sand, clear water that turns into the bluest of blues the deeper you go, beautiful sunshine; it didn't even feel real! Of course, on the softest beach my feet have ever touched, the sole of my right foot manages to find the most jagged stick on the whole beach, and step on it. But you win some, you lose some. I was okay with my feet being the losers if it meant lounging on this beach for a few hours. The ocean water here in Airlie is unbelievably warm compared to any other ocean water I've swam in, so we were able to just sit in the water and watch it lap all around us. It was breathtakingly beautiful. We took some photos, still failing to capture this beach in all its beauty, and then we were off to our next spot for snorkeling.

We took the speed boat to another beach area on a different island, and once we had on our stinger suits (in case of jellies) and snorkeling gear, we were fit to dive right in. Me, well I was one of the last ones in, due to my irrational fear of weird things touching my feet. I am very protective of my bare feet, and in my book, "weird" encompasses the idea of fish. After a few minutes of avoiding it, I finally slid off the side of the boat into the water, which was ever-so populated with all kinds of fish. Literally, there were everywhere, swimming all around you and even right at the surface. My first peek underwater with my goggles on is something I will probably never forget. The fish were so vibrant and pretty and everywhere! All kinds of them, even big dark ones looming near the bottom! And the coral! I didn't even think coral could look that pretty, with all of its colors and formations and natural beauty! I even saw a real live starfish on the coral (Patrick Star!!!) The experience was unlike any other, something I think everyone should see themselves. I would do it again in a heartbeat, just to be able to see more! And luckily for me, these fish seem to understand the idea of 'personal space', and avoid swimming directly into you (perfect!).

Our final destination of the day was another beach, right across the water from one of the only 6 star resorts in the world. I didn't know that 6 star resorts existed, nor am I aware of how a particular resort acquires 6 stars. But one of our tour guides did inform us that the cheapest room available at said resort was $800, while the most expensive was something like $27,000 per night with a minimum stay of 3 nights. That's almost my entire college tuition- you do the math. But our final beach! It was lovely, more like a little sand bar smack in the middle of the reef. Walk into the water about 15 feet and you'll find yourself swimming above some of the coolest coral I've ever seen (although I am no coral connoisseur). We snorkeled, we tanned, I fell asleep on the beach and yet again got a slight sunburn. Overall, it was an absolutely amazing day and even more things got checked off the bucket list! Sadly, today marks our last day of break and tomorrow we'll head back to Sydney. Our spring break was perfect, couldn't ask for anything better! (Except maybe a little less sunburn all over my body).

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.037s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb