The Whitsundays


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
March 23rd 2009
Published: March 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Just a quick one here - I'm in Airlie Beach (landed in Shute Harbor) to pick up some gear I ordered - that was supposed to be shipped to Mackay, but they sent it to Gladstone instead - so I had to have it forwarded it on to here (hopefully it will be here, and not in Timbuktu or wherever).

Days 50, 51: Cape Hillsborough (20 miles), Shute Harbor (49 miles)

Day 50 - Just before leaving Mackay on Sunday afternoon, the volunteer rescue folk wanted to know if I was 'missing'. Hay Point was putting out a 'securite' for a kayaker between Cape Palmerson and Mackay, I guess I kind of fit the bill - but I told them that I was not missing.
Cape Hillsborough is a beautiful place - unfortunately I arrived just at dark and left just before light (6pm, 6am), so I did not get to enjoy the scenery (though I'm not posting pictures today - these did not come out anyway - too dark).

Day 51 - Though (for me) I got a 'late' start of 6AM, I was able to do a near 50 mile paddle to Shute Harbor (aided a lot by a moderate southerly and using the tide (correctly) to get around a notorious Cape Conway (squirrly currents, eddies). The last time (in '06) I spent several hours trying to get around the cape (for much less than several miles covered).


That's all for now - got to go see if my package is there, or if I need to forward it on from Timbuktu to Bowen, Townsville, Cairns, ... Cape York?



Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb