So much to tell you!!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
January 23rd 2006
Published: January 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Wow... I don't even know where to start. I've seen and done so much since my last up-date! I left Noosa and headed to Hervey Bay which was a pretty boring place because it's basically a retirement community. Fortunately I left early the next morning for Fraser Island. This was an amazing trip! Fraser Island is the biggest SAND island in the world. It's completely sand! There are only 3 rock formations on the whole island, so the only way to get around is by 4WD. I decided to do the guided tour and I'm really gald that I did because we saw so much! It was extremely hot on the island, but we'd stop a couple times a day to go for a swim and cool down a bit. The third day we walked down to Lake Wabby for a quick dip and then had to walk across a sand blow to get back to the bus. It only took about 20 minutes, but I don't think I've ever been so hot in all my life. People were dumping their water on their feet because the sand was so hot that it was buring their feet! It was really beautiful
Lake Birrabeen - Fraser IslandLake Birrabeen - Fraser IslandLake Birrabeen - Fraser Island

A hard day at the beach!!
though. Later that day we took a little 6 seater plane around the island. This was wonderful, although I was happy to get my feet back on the sand. Our pilot use to be a stunt pilot, so needless to say it wasn't a dull ride!
After leaving Fraser Island I spent a night in Kroombit. This is basically a cattle station in the middle of nowhere, but we had a great time there despite the fact it poured rain again!! We left Kroombit early the next morning for the long 12 hour bus ride to Airlie Beach. We arrived late in the evening to the worst hostel I've stayed at yet. The room itself wasn't all that bad, but the guy we had to share a room with had left half a can of sardines in the room along with his scuba gear. Needless to say the room stunk to high heaven! We got rid of the sardines, and nearly kicked him out too, and the smell improved marginally.
The next morning I said good bye to the English couple I'd been traveling with for the past few days and I left on my sailing tour of the Whitsunday Islands. It was amazing!! I went on 3 scuba dives!!!! I'm pretty surprised I was able to do it considering I had a little panic attack the first time I tried snorkeling a couple weeks ago. It was absolutely beautiful though!!! I'm glad I perservered. We also stopped at Whitehaven Beach where I saw the whitest sand I've ever seen. I think this is the closest I'm going to get to snow in the next couple months.
That's a pretty quick summary of what I've been up to, but hopefully it'll give you a bit of an idea. I've added just a couple pictures to give you a bit of an idea of what I'm seeing here (isn't it beautiful!!). I'll add more once I get home. Hope all is well with everyone back home! I enjoy reading your comments and hearing what everyone is up to. Take care.

Advertisement



23rd January 2006

you are so lucky
Kaye I look forward to your updates and I'm so envious. The pictures are beautiful and it sounds like you are having a blast...good for you. When you get home we'll all have to go out and look at pictures and hear your stories. Cathy from Lab says hello and don't marry the 1st guy that asks you.
23rd January 2006

Hey Girl! Finally some pictures to look at! Wow, I'm jealous! Those beaches look like paradise! I'm real glad you're enjoying your trip. We all envy you here, for sure! We just had a huge snowfall this Saturday! Go ahead, laugh....!!! 15cm at least! Well, take good care of yourself, and keep sending us great pics! V.
23rd January 2006

awesome
Wow your pictures are amazing. Looks and sounds like you are having a wonderful time.
24th January 2006

Wow Kaye those pictures are awesome! Now I wish I could attach some pic's of where I am at so you could see Canada at its finest too! You would never come home. Sounds like you are having a great time. I love reading about your adventures, keep them coming.
24th January 2006

I'm envious
Kaye, glad to hear from you. You're time in Auz is almost done, hard to believe. I read your comments to grandma over the phone, but it will be impossible to show her your pictures. Sounds like you are having a blast and have met some nice people. How many scuba lessons did you take before jumping to the depths? Just tell me enough and I'll leave it at that! Life here is as dull and routine as ever. Terry's knee is healing well, and I'm just getting grouchier every day (go figure that combination!) I'm sure that NZ will be just as much fun, at least I hope it will be! Love, Mom and Terry

Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0625s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb