Sailing the Whitsundays


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
November 14th 2006
Published: November 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Spent satururday morning looking around town and had lunch with Efrat who wasn't coming with us on the boat as she has to get the bus the day before us as it is fully booked. At 1.30 we got a coach to the harbour and then with about 25 other people boarded The British Defender which was previously a round the world racing maxi sailing boat. Karen and I shared a tiny double bed with no head room that was on the top bunk, luckily for me she went on the inside, (I only woke her up kicking her on the second day). Over the two days we stopped at 3 snorkel sites (see fish pics) and wandered over a ridge to Whitehaven beach. It was beautiful pure white sand. Unfortunately every time we got in the water we had to wear full body stinger suits to protect against transparent tiny jellyfish. It kind of ruined the romance of it!! Also there wasn't enough wind so we only sailed once.

There was a stow away on our boat; a load texan who hadn't paid and just walked on. If it wasn't for him I would have got my own bed! he also stole beer and wine from the group and never followed the captains instructions. Mutual annoyance really bonded the group together!!

We got back to Airlie at lunch time and went to the marina- no stinger suite- bliss!



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



24th November 2006

I'd have shoved him over board
This was my comment when I read about your stowaway!! I have enjoyed wtching your wonderful trips - only wish I could have sone them in my youth. I hope you continue to have such wonderful times and I can see all the pictures. I think you are wonderfully athletic. I have been enjoying my birthday - mum took me to see Sound of Music - a wonderful show. lots of love for now - Gran xxxxxxx

Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0984s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb