Coolest Banana


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Agnes Water
June 15th 2006
Published: June 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

ScooterooScooterooScooteroo

Thats my gang on our choppers. Don't mess around.
Dear friends and family,

So I have gone ahead and dated this entry from the 15th of June. I must confess, however, that it is actually the 29th of June while i write this. This entry is to give you some input on my trip to Agnes Waters and the town of 1770. I was there about a week and a half ago and had an abosulutely amazing time. It was the first place I had been to on my trip by myself that I felt truely comfortable and free. The hostel I stayed at was called Cool Banana's, hence the title of this entry. The owner and the people who stayed there were amazing and kind. The place had a very relaxed and comfortable feeling to it. I had not planned on even visiting this city but it was recommended to me last minute. I ended up staying for 5 days and 4 nights, it was that good. The town has not yet been overrun by tourism. Still has a small town feel with really great beaches and National Park.

The town gets its name because in 1770 Captain James Cook landed there. While here I did so
Perfect LightingPerfect LightingPerfect Lighting

Magaly was taking photo after photo of herself on the beach. One or two and I wouldn't ask questions, but 30, I had to ask. "The lighting is so perfect," she said, "you can't take a bad photo of yourself." She was right, I mean look at how amazing Judith and I look.
much fun stuff. The beach to begin was so pleasant, in fact the first good whether I had while on the east coast. So I took the opportunity to get some sun and just relax while reading my book (Mountains beyond Mountains) on the beach. On the first day I went on the Scooteroo Tour which consisted of me on a chopper riding around the countrside and seeing kangaroos and crocs. It was so much fun. We got those things up to about 80km/hr. Don't know what that is in mph, but it felt super fast. We watched a beautiful sunset at the end of the tour.

On another day we got up at 5:30am to make it to the lookout to see the sunrise (see pictures). It was so worth it. A girl named Judith (see pic) from Sweeden that I met was kind enough to wake up with me and go see the sunrise. That was quite the task considering that we were up late watching world cup games. Anyhow, Judith was really sweet and lots of fun to hang with.

The next day, which was a bit rainy and cloudy (not the best for the
The day was that goodThe day was that goodThe day was that good

Me being genuinely happy out on the beach... Just thought it captured all my feelings of my stay in Agnes Waters
beach), I spent the day with the Hostel owner named Gred and his staff on a four wheel drive adventure through the National Park. We drove the mad men through a palm forrest out to a very isolated beach. It was so much fun and a really fun experience. I got thrown into this adventure with 10 people I had never spoken to before in my life and we had a grand old time. Some good pictures and funny stories I'll never forget.

What I'll take away from Agnes Waters and the Cool Banana's hostel is the friendships I made. In fact, two girls I met there traveled with me for the next week down the coast stopping with me at Hervey Bay, Fraser Island, and at last Noosaville. Marie and Joanna were so much fun and I'm truely grateful that they were around when they were. There company made each of the places we visited that much more fun. Anyhow, I hope you enjoy the photo documentation of my stop at Cool Bananas.

Cheers
Marcus


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Free Facials Anyone?Free Facials Anyone?
Free Facials Anyone?

When someone throws the word free out when traveling you can't pass it up. This nice fellow showed up each night at Cool Bananas to slap this paint on our faces and it left my skin feeling silky smooth
East CoastEast Coast
East Coast

All you folks back home on the west coast of the USA know how spectacular the sunsets can be when the sun dips below the ocean. Well I'm on the east coast of Oz so we get up early and watch the sunrise. Always worth it.


29th June 2006

hey there stranger ; )
Hey Marc! It's great to get a little glimpse of your travels. I am so proud of you....what an amazing adventure it must be. Well, Im glad i can view your blog and stay in touch with your life. I dont think im gonna make a blog for my journey, however, i will definately be in touch through e-mail. I wish you the best, and can't wait to hear about where the universe will lead you. So much love, and many blessings along the way, your friend, Ashley
30th June 2006

Hi from home
Marc, glad your having a great experience. Your pictures didn't shoow up on the web page - at least on my computer. Love, Dad

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0759s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb