Town of 1770 Surf's Up!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » 1770
February 25th 2010
Published: February 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

[youtube=8PST2RqKBKs][youtube=pyKUgL0GouM][youtube=C89zrr5OO0o][youtube=yb5bXEmC29E]During my travel holidays we took a trip to 1770, yes it’s true the town of 1770 is actually named 1770! It’s one of the only places in the world named in numbers making it a truly unique Australian experience! The town of 1770 is a seaside village surrounded on three sides by the Coral Seas and Bustard Bay.

1770 is also known as the second landing spot of Lieutenant James Cook (before he was named Captain) and the crew of the Endeavour in May 1770. 1770 is considered the birthplace of Queensland and is famous for the tranquil beaches and sea scape settings that have been untouched for almost 240 years now!

The best way to view this is by taking a LARC Tour it literally takes you through to the closest mainland point to Lady Musgrave Island, it’s 75 minutes by sea, and the island is unspoiled and a true coral cay with a unique coral lagoon on the Outer Great Barrier Reef. The island itself is set on 3,000 acres of living reef with a deep water coral lagoon which is definitely unique to the Great Barrier Reef region.

While in 1770 we stayed at the Mango hotel a lovely quiet place SO close to the beach, hot tip for any back packers with vans, you can actually park your van in the small park area closest to the beach and camp over night for free!

I also was able to have my first ever SURF lesson during my travel holidays in Australia! It was only $15 for 4 hours! Crazy cheap!!! The waves were a bit big for me, but I still gave it my all! Check out this week’s Roo to see me get pummmmmellleedd by waves! I was hurtin’ so bad the next day, PLUS my face was so crispy! I was having to much fun (me v.s. the wave) that I forgot to reapply lotion to my face! So Zinc is usually one of the best ways to prevent that from happening…

We stayed in 1770 for three days because we fell in LOVE with this cute small town and the fun people. There was this guy Macka he’s in our “How To” section advising us on the dangerous creepys they have there, but this guy seemed to have an “in” everywhere in the small town and was definitely a character.
After chatting him up for a bit, he suggested we review his friends “Scooteroo” tour.

We figured “Scooteroo” - “Jill and Stacey do the roo”…. OF COURSE we had to try it out! But much to Jill’s dismay, it was a motorcycle tour, where you actually got to drive your own mini version. We discovered that Jill’s new nickname should be Granny Clark and mine was SP-Andretti! Jill was white knuckling it at 40kms and drove right into a bush… while I was one hand filming going 80kms… and trying to jump speed bumps… true story. I think I MAY have a natural born need for speed… just not jumping off a cliff kinda speed…. it gives you wedgies.

All in all during my travel holidays in Australia 1770 by far was one of my MOST favorite towns! I loved the vibe, the town, the activities, the travelers there, and everything! Also, literally a hop, skip, and jump away is Agnes Waters sorta like twin sister towns, is right by with great seaside camping and also a laid back vibe that it’s the perfect place to just chill out and max and relax!

P.S. - if you WANT to annoy the person you’re traveling with, make cheesy references to flashing back in time to 1770, and wake up every morning and sing “Little town… its a quiet village, everyday… like the one before… ” - Disney’s Beauty and The Beast. (Fun for you, not so much them )

Advertisement



Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1155s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb