Town of 1770


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » 1770
May 25th 2009
Published: May 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After our hectic time on Fraser we decided that we needed to relax for a few days so we decided to make our way to 1770. It's a really small town and is really relaxing. Of course it rained on our first day which was a bit annoying but am slowly getting used to it!

The next day the sun came out, yippee! So we decided to try and learn to surf. It was the cheapest surfing we had seen and I must say you get what you pay for! Our 'coach' was this fat, old, typical Australian guy. He spent about an hour talking rubbish about surfing, including going on and on about not to surf in a certain place and saying about how he surfed for 20 years on the Gold Coast. It was so much rubbish that a couple of Irish girls said they were going to leave, to which he said 'Good - go back to Ireland with all your Catholic and Protestant fighting'. We should have left with them, but decided to stay. After our boring talk we were allowed into the water where he bascially left us and went and sat in some rocks. The waves were really bad, so I couldn't even get out to them. After about 10 minutes of being smacked by the board I decided to give up. He came over to me and sarting saying that we should surf where he had been tellig us not to surf. I questioned him, and was then called arrogant as why did I think I knew better then him as he has been surfing for 20 years!!! Again, I should have left then really. But instead I tried again, closer to the rocks, which really made me feel safe!! I think I lasted about another 15 minutes then gave up again. This time the 'coach' had done some surfing himself and was now hiding in the trees!!!!! Ian confirmed that surfing is boring and keeps saying he doesn't understand why anyone would do it!

We also did a scooteroo tour of 1770. Here you get given scooters which have been made to look like motorbikes and drive around the town. It was really good fun. I was really slow on the scooter (I did go up to 50 km/hr but apparently that isn't quick enough!) but enjoyed it. It was funny seeing about 50 people drive around the place, all following each other! The rain came so we had to drive back slowly - good for me! For some reason I couldn't drive anymore and nearly ran into the people looking after us as I kept going the wrong way with the accelerator! This freaked me out so when we had to drive through a massive puddle I gave up and the owner had to come and get my bike and do it. Some thing will never change!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb