NT - No yuppies allowed


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory
October 13th 2009
Published: October 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

11th October 09 - 12th October 09

Crossed the border on Sunday the 11th, I am now in the real 'Outback'!

The Barkly HWY is one long, straight and possibly the most bloody boring stretch of road you will come across. Sure the wide open plains of yellow grass and clear blue skies will have you feeling pretty amazed by the beauty of the countryside. However, when it's just you, the road, the heat and 260km to your next spot after being in the van for the past 5 hours on a dusty, shitty road... well you get the picture! And then when the first sign you see when you cross the border is a 130 km per/hr speed limit (got to love the Territorians), you get even more shitty because my van has a top speed of only 100! Well actually more like 90 when I have the air con running. So most people go pass me in a blur! Oh well, slow and steady wins the race or something like that they say...

Now here is a turning point in my travels. The Barkly HWY is where I discovered my new found love of... books on
Wide open spacesWide open spacesWide open spaces

Barkly HWY, NT
CD! Honestly I have just been openned up to a whole new world and I am addicted. This is what road trips are all about! So I have started with something light, something easy.... Dan Brown's Angels & Demons! Ok, not so light and easy but I am hooked. I had read the book years ago, but listening to someone tell the story, I think it must take me back to my childhood when you got read to at bedtime. I always loved to be read to so I think this must be why I have such a fondness for books on CD!

So with Angels & Demons being played out before me, I journey half way across the Barkly Tablelands to the half way point and my stop for the night - Barkelys Homestead (roadtrain headquarters). It's what you would expect of a roadhouse in the middle of nowhere and I like it. I still love seeing the roadtrains roar by, expect when they have a load of cattle on board.... makes me sad. Oh are they going to love this vegie eating, animal loving, tree hugging hippy in the Northern Territory! I am just going to fit
Wooho!Wooho!Wooho!

Got to love the Northern Territory
in right away (ha ha).

I continue on the next day to Three Ways, the junction of the Stuart HWY with the Barkly HWY. Now I have to make my first big decision.... do I turn left or right? Alice or Darwin? Man it's a hard life sometimes...


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Loving the dust (not)!Loving the dust (not)!
Loving the dust (not)!

Barkly Homestead, NT
Half way pointHalf way point
Half way point

Barkly HWY, NT


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb