The Aussie Diaries: The Elemental


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Uluru
September 26th 2000
Published: November 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Uluru Uluru Uluru

Walking around it before dawn I could really feel its full elemental power.
I just had a great day in the Australian Outback. It all started at 4:55am with my early morning shower. I misjudged the Rock yesterday. Arriving before dawn was one of the greatest experiences and I cannot say that I have many like it. It rises out of the pre-dawn murk, like some timeless wonder. And as you walk around it you actually feel this elemental power. You feel the wind. You smell the red dirt. And you hear the sway of the bush grass as the outback wind whips through.

The Aboriginal owners urge you not to climb it. That is not what this place is about. Rather, they urge you to listen to the story it has to tell. Today was full of truly unique experiences for me. With the red Rock rising up from the dark to meet the sun as I listened to the elements. Later in the day I hiked out to a dry salt lake. At that moment I realized just how isolated I was from at that spot. There are no people for many, many miles.

Here tonight I would say that Victoria Bitter, an Australian beer, plus an Outback sunset
Sunrise at the RockSunrise at the RockSunrise at the Rock

I would get up at 4:55 everyday just to witness the stillness and power of a sunrise like this.
equal "A bit of all right". Tonight I go to bed under another starlit outback sky. The stars are brighter than white and are as plentiful as anything. I think I'm going to be fine out here. Things come together sometimes. Anyway, here's to the elemental.



Note: The Aussie Diaries are a XX part series. The entries come directly unabridged from the journal I carried around with me on my first post-university adventure to the southern hemisphere. They are a bit on the rough side.


added october 31, 2005

Advertisement



Tot: 0.336s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 25; qc: 109; dbt: 0.1786s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb