36 degrees in the shade...


Advertisement
Published: May 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Last night in my beloved swag...Last night in my beloved swag...Last night in my beloved swag...

I will miss my swag, it became a part of me. I so looked forward to bedtime where I could snuggle up and just look up at the stars to fall asleep under...
Kings Canyon Rim Walk was our longest hike I think. It was most definately the most tiring anyway as the heat was so intense. Halfway through the walk we came to the Garden of Eden where you could go swimming...in freezing cold water...that was a nice dingey green colour...I passed on this one...

Our last night bush camping was wonderful. Scott brought out his guitar, although it was left handed so I couldn't play anything on it. We all had a sing song round the warmth of the campfire, had some wine and dinner...and then someone accidently set Scott's only wooden spoon on fire...this became a topic in one of the songs...ahaha...
Throughout the trip I heard alot of traditional Australian songs, and plenty of drinking songs...my favourite being 'Duncan', where you change the name, then shorten it, and then make up your own last line of the first verse.

I'd love to have a beer with Duncan,
I'd love to have a beer with Dunc,
We drink in moderation,
and we never ever get rollin' drunk

We drink in the town and country,
Where the atmosphere is great,
I'd love to have a beer with Duncan,
Cos'
A wonderful smelly group...A wonderful smelly group...A wonderful smelly group...

It got to a point where no one cared about smelling a bit, although sometimes it wasn't too pleasant after a 3 hour hike and all getting back into the 4WD together for a 3 hour drive...
Duncan's, me mate!

Sarit and I tried going round using each persons name, but got stuck on the one syllable names, which you couldn't obviously shorten anymore. It was then that we were advised by our fellow Australians to just put a 'y' at the end of it...so it then became...I'd love to have a beer with Scotty, I'd love to have a beer with Scott...perfect...although our italian friends were a bit tricky to find rhymes with and to fit in all the syllables...

Lets see if any of you can come up with a new first verse, using your name maybe...


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

The Garden of Eden...The Garden of Eden...
The Garden of Eden...

Another oasis in such a dry desert area at Kings Canyon...


4th May 2006

nigey!
hello x goodbye x

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.093s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb