Into the Outback


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Katherine
December 27th 2005
Published: April 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Katherine River - KatherineKatherine River - KatherineKatherine River - Katherine

Still very green, especially along the rivers. Well, it´s wet season and Katherine is only 300ks from Darwin.
Heading towards Australia´s center I first tried to hitch my way through the outback. There´s only one highway going south, the Stuard Highway, and I thought with the friendly Ozzies and a clear direction to head to it wouldn´t be a problem. But after about 300km in an outback town called Katherine I got stuck. Nobody seemed to go any further, the sun and the humidety were stewing me in my own grease. So I chose the pool option for the rest of the day and marveld at ever-changing outback vegetation from inside the airconditioned Ghan, a once adventurous but today fairly usual train ride. It took me from the lush green humidety to the red and dry area in central Australia, to Alice Springs.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Pool PicturePool Picture
Pool Picture

Nearly every Backpackers in NT features a swimming pool. New luxury that is easy to get used to...
Strange CreaturesStrange Creatures
Strange Creatures

This one I found near Uluru.
CamelsCamels
Camels

On the way back from Uluru to Alice Springs I hitched a ride with two german guys. Since they had rented a 4wd they had to use the dirt road instead of the highway... that´s how we came across these camels.


Tot: 0.198s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 37; qc: 177; dbt: 0.139s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb