Days 93 - 96, Katherine


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Katherine
April 26th 2007
Published: April 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I'm back! Sorry for the delay in the blogging! I know some of you have been wanting the next entry to help distract you from your work, so here goes! I also have made up for it by putting lots of photos on to keep you sweet.

Still in Katherine with Andrew and still having the most fabulous time!

Last night we went back to Katherine Gorge and camped there overnight. We took a few beers, i drank them a little too quickly and on an empty stomach. This, of course, resulted in me acting like a drunken idiot! Poor Andrew, but he had to see it at some time! - he was very amused and very sweet to look after me. After we had cooked dinner we heard a rustling in the rubbish bag. Looked up to find a cute kangaroo trying to steal our leftovers! I named her Karen and thought she was very cute! However, kangaroos are a bit of a pest over here so we scared Karen away to annoy someone else.

This morning, we were meant to get up and start a walk to watch the sunrise at the top of the hill. However, the one too many beers meant we missed sunrise and got up at 7am. We wanted to walk to a place called Southern Rock which is a waterhole in the gorge and go for a swim. The heat is so intense here so an early start was essential to beat the sun. The walk was beautiful and we swam in the waterhole with a little trickling waterfall. No crocodiles in sight andrew had promised so i let him go in first just to test it! A huge tour group had just been swimming in it as well and they all got out in 1 piece so i was pretty safe. It was lovely, clear water with little fish swimming around you.

I have also been out again on shift with Andrew and the paramedics - it was proper boo, i tell thee! Lots of drunk people bashing each other about or stabbing each other so not too different to wythenshawe on a friday night really.

Anyway, i have a few more days here before the LA dreaming begins. Loving oz, its still not out of my system yet!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Southern RockSouthern Rock
Southern Rock

Going for a swim!
Southern RockSouthern Rock
Southern Rock

Going for a swim!
Oh the shame!Oh the shame!
Oh the shame!

How drunk was i last night??!


26th April 2007

The tan is coming back!
Wow, Karen is really cute! You must have been really close to her. I have been checking your blog everyday waiting for the next installment...thankfully it's here today. I'm settling back into the working life again, it's a struggle but i'm coping. The photographic evidence suggests that your tan is creeping back, I bet that makes you happy! Sounds like you're still having the time of your life, enjoy every minute of it and try not to leave it too long until the next blog update...I need an excuse not to work! xxx
26th April 2007

I remeber another time you were a drunken idiot, with me egging you on in my drunken idiotic state too.... Poll dancing on a packed out bus in fallowfield.........about 5pm at night, those were the days !!!xxx
26th April 2007

Can't believe this!!!,
Do I really have to teach you your own language now?!? Proper BO Lucy, not BOOooo, that is what you shout in theatres when actors are crap or sing badly, BO is the right term bXXX, ok? Anyway, your spelling mistakes can be overlooked coz this has been the best blog EVER!!! That photo has three faces in it in the water, spooky! Stands for past, present and future I think, and I am clairvoyant according to one of my patients. past looks a bit dissinterested, present quite animated, but future shouts at you! Make the right choice...don't let us down now. The photo with Southern Rock by the way. Romance is blossoming WE LOVE IT!!! Romance sells, you are on the right track there and the pictures ARE GREAT!!! It is like Rachel and Ross in friends, compulsary reading!!! I love the way you let yourself down and gets drunk, people can't love perfection, there has to be an element of pity, so this hence makes you lovable (to him AND us readers) And also I must comment on the kangaroo. You are so lucky, I tried to picture one outside here as bins get emptied tomorrow, but it all got a bit surreal, like a cartoon, it is like you have crossed over to a fantacy world that does not really exist. There is NO WAY I can picture a kangaroo outside here rooting in the bin. But then I am sober unlike yourself. Last comment and then I will shut up(for today), I think the pic of Andrew sitting with his hat is real. And lastly, Nicky can sod off, not seen her thankfully. Got locked in the practice with a patient! I did! had to call them. Anyway, bye, and say a WARM hello to him from me. And to the cutie kangaroo.
26th April 2007

AND
Right, I am a bit talkative tonite,- I forgot to say that I am not only clairvoyant, but a bit of a body language expert, and having studied the photoes carefully I can tell you one thing, that man fancies you! Saw the king in his bicycle gear today, he was perfect as you can imagine. Work gets Worse, full of crocodiles, but unlike yourself I can't force someone else to try it first in the morning, I have to go in. So keep on LIVING a bit for me too will you? Just think "What would Eili do?" and then DO IT!xxxxxxxxxx
27th April 2007

Howick - you must never mention that again!
And i hope you destroyed the photographic evidence! It was freshers week so thats my excuse! Loving australia! Looking forward to catching up, maybe over dinner at the lime tree - yum!
27th April 2007

Hey Eili!
Am very sorry for the spelling error - will try better next time! Am liking what your clairvoyant/body language skills are telling you about me and the aussie! He says G'day and is looking forward to meeting the girl that leaves all the comments on my blog! Am must defiantly LIVING life to the max. Will remember your advice - 'what would eili do?'
27th April 2007

Hi Big H!
Karen was so cute! She wasn't shy at all - all night we had kangaroos jumping around the tent! Have never seen them in the wild before so very excited. The tan look in the photo was unfortunately a little bit of sunburn! Hope the 'how was your holiday?' questions are over by now. Don't forget what fun we had in NZ, it was great wasn't it? Looking forward to seeing Justin Timberlake - WOW! Love you lots x
27th April 2007

Those spelling mistakes
Your blog is like an internet chat room with all the comments, it's really fun to read! Eili sounds fun, I've never met her but I can imagine she would make me laugh just like you do! She's right about the fact you make people laugh till they wet themselves, I experienced that a lot in NZ!!! I'll never forget the fun we had in New Zealand, that's impossible! Really looking forward to JT it's all I've listened to since being back. I wonder if anyone noticed that your spelling got a little bit better when I was with you?! All that shouting across the internet cafe and asking me for spelling advice!!! Ah, so many memories! I have noticed a couple of errors since my return but it wouldn't be you without them, and we all know what you mean anyway! Love Big H! xxx
29th April 2007

hey you! Thanks for the distraction!! Little karen looks so cute!! wish i was there. keep having fun, and enjoy LA. s x x
30th April 2007

NEXT BLOG???????
Next blog please! We are worried!!!!! LOTS of photoes please. We all feel neglected now...like you don't care at all. Big H is in tears and wonders if it is something she has done or said. I said it probably was, and she looked absolutely guttet! You really don't have to choose between your family and love honey!
30th April 2007

Hello from sunny Manchester
Hello Lisa and Andrew how are you?? Back home now and bored!! Missing you!!! Can't wait to get back over. My tan is holding up well ( i will share my secrets on return). The weather here has been really nice but cold by our standards I mean its under 25c!!!! Just got over my jet lag! Took nearly 2 weeks! Jen has been asking about you every day and we are counting the days till you come to see us! Hope Bush boy is doing well and looking forward to coming to UK. Siobhan is coming next week but only for a day. Thought of a way to get you and A free calls!!!!!! Jen and I are continuing our Aussie lifestyle by going camping with Jill this weekend, how funny will that be? Hope you enjoying US, remember to get the teeth whitening stuff so you can move in with us in Cheshire and look like everyone else hehe! Speak soon lots of Love S xxx
1st May 2007

Hi Steve and Jen!
Hi guys! Am at Auckland airport, fly to LA in a few hours. I remebered about the teeth whitening strips last night - it cheered me up when i felt sad about leaving Andrew and Australia! I knew you'd sort out the cheap calls thing steve - when it comes to phones, you're the person to know! My tan has needed a little help from a bottle so will look forward to hearing your secrets. Will be so cool to go out in manchester with you, Jen, Jill and Andrew - like we are back in Melbourne. Think bush boy is looking forward to it. God i miss Australia, it is fabulous isn't it? Will keep in contact whilst i'm in LA and let you know my plans for my return but i can't wait to see you! Miss you everyday, Lisa x

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0338s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb