My Amazing Helicopter Tour Over Kakadu National Park


Advertisement
Published: August 13th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I always wanted to rent a helicopter. I had seen plenty of movies where people get to see amazing views from the air. Therefore, I frequently talked about getting in a helicopter and seeing the countryside. After hearing me express my desire to get in a helicopter, a coworker suggested that I look into available helicopter tours in and around the area or contact people at Air Charter Network to see the options. I found a helicopter tour at Kakadu National Park that looked amazing. I made my reservation and waited for the special day.

Growing Anticipation



I am not a big fan of flying, but I love to see the scenery outside my window when I am in a plane. It was hard for me to get any sleep before going on my helicopter tour because I was extremely excited. I was not sure whether a morning or evening tour would be best for me, and I finally decided on one in the afternoon. When I contacted the charter company in order to make a reservation, I was surprised at how helpful and understanding they were to me. I felt foolish asking some questions I thought were obvious, but I was assured that my questions were quite reasonable.

Going Up in the Air



Based on previous tours that I have been on, I assumed that my tour guide and pilot would have either a lot to say or nothing at all. It was great to learn that my pilot was informative and polite. He had plenty to share, but he did it at the right times. He seemed to know when I was getting anxious. He was clear when we were going to take off and where we were going. Since I have been to Kakadu National Park before, I had a good idea of the areas we were going to see. The takeoff was pleasing, and I was not scared. Instead, I felt a rush of exhilaration as I clutched my camera and looked at the beautiful scenery below.

Sights and Sounds



As we were on our way, I found myself spellbound as I took in the experience. The cliffs and countryside were astonishing. We flew by the East Alligator River, and there was plenty of wildlife that we saw. I took a large number of terrific pictures, and I was very pleased that the batteries in my camera were new. At one point, the pilot instructed me and the other people on the flight to look to my right. To our astonishment, we saw some wild horses. I could almost feel their strength and independence. In fact, I thought I could hear them whinnying. If it were not for the pilot, my fellow travelers and I would have missed the wild horses. After awhile, we flew by Kakadu Megela Falls. The rush of the falls was amazing, and I thought I could see the remnants of a rainbow. It was a powerful experience, and it was one that I will not forget.

Heading Back



An hour went by quickly, but it was the right amount of time for me to be in the helicopter. As we headed back, there was still plenty to see. I almost felt a bit saddened that the flight was ending, but I was extremely excited to see the pictures that I had on my camera. I promised to stay in touch with a couple on the tour and eventually sent them some of my photographs, and they sent me some of theirs.

Being on a helicopter tour and seeing Kakadu National Park from the air was certainly one of the top experiences of the year for me. The helicopter charter rates were definitely affordable. I am already looking forward to going on a tour next year, but this time I will be taking my boyfriend. The best part of the experience is a tie between seeing Kakadu Megela Falls and the wild horses.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.031s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023.5kb