Up in the tropics of Darwin...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Darwin
May 5th 2006
Published: May 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Friendly little frogs...Friendly little frogs...Friendly little frogs...

Lots of little tree frogs up in the tropics...although I've never seen one on a tree yet, only in bathrooms...
Well my trip from Alice Springs to Darwin was not too good. If it wasn't for the great friends that I made then I would be completely moaning about it. Our tour guide was horrible, such a moody guy reluctant to answer any questions and just wasn't informative in the slightest! Plus he never gave us any feedback forms at the end which is a bit dodgy to me...

Oh well...anyway...I've spent my time here in hot hot Darwin mainly with two girls, Chris and Mel. During the day we would do our own thing and explore the city, then meet up in the evening for our bargain $1 meal and go out for the night. Seriously, this $1 meal may sound rather erm...interesting...but it is actually really nice, especially the lasagne which is something I can't quite see myself making at any point during my travels...

Met quite a few more actual Australian's up here which is really nice, as when travelling your usually meeting all international people who are doing the same thing as you...so yes...it was great to hang out with some local aussies again and chat with them about their country...

On Saturday night
Under the stars...Under the stars...Under the stars...

With the dry season meaing not a single drop of rain, why not have a cinema outdoors...
I went to the beautiful Deckchair Cinema. It was such a cute little place. I bought some food and went down there to eat it whilst the sun set. Then the film began. I watched 'I Know I'm Not Alone' by Michael Franti. It's about the actual people in the middle east, the places being Iraq, Palestine and Israel and how he went there with his guitar, some friends and a video camera, to find out the real human cost of war on these people and what they think rather than what the media portrays them to be. It was so moving and really beautifully crafted. Go see it now, look it up and watch it...the soundtrack is wonderful as well... http://www.iknowimnotalone.com/


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Only in Darwin...Only in Darwin...
Only in Darwin...

Well I found this funny...


10th May 2006

Gday
mmmmmmmmwwwwaaaahhhh xxxx
10th May 2006

So nice to recieve your journal while I'm at the Christian Resources Exhibition while mum is in sunny Spain .I hear that you're getting an Ozzi accent. How about giving your dad a call so I can hear your voice I miss you lots. I cannot wait to give you a BIG hug. Take care . love Dad
12th May 2006

Who ran the trip?
Hi, Thinking of doing a trip from Alice to Darwin - who did you travel with? Could do without the sulky guide, etc. Cheers, Dave
12th May 2006

Re: Who ran the trip?
Hi Dave.. It was with Wayward Bus..apparantly they are changing management too and have a bad reputation for using new tour guides who havent had much experience or training. I think Adventure Tours do a trip from Alice to Darwin, I used them in Tasmania and they were excellent! Hope you have a good trip up to Darwin. The weather up there is beautiful :)

Tot: 0.177s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1295s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb