Road Trip Perth to Darwin. Ticks in every box!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Darwin
July 27th 2008
Published: July 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Escaping unscathed. I found myself catching my breath for a few days with ever beautiful Mr SOBL. Who has resorted my faith in all things good!, then south of Perth to Mandurah for a farewell to Miss Tash and Mango. It was a little sad to leave Perth but was comforted at the thought of leaving with more friends than I had arrived. So thank you to Alan, Miss Tash, Mr SOBL, Carime, Santos & Noni for all of my special memories there.
Right on the road again.....up the coast to the Pinnacles, some limestone formations in Cervantes. Ready and itching to pitch my tent for the first time the heavens open and the gods unkind for one wanting to bond with nature. So it was fortunate that there was a quaint little hostel that kept me warm and dry for the night.
Next day was up to Nanga Bay where I finally had the opportunity to erect that tent which I would come to have a love hate relationship with. (deep down I knew this already). So tent is up, pink chair is out, dinner is cooking on the portable gas stove and a bottle of wine being uncorked in a speedy fashion. Great little spot, my fellow neighbours where delightful and found myself there for 2 evenings sharing stories and drinks while discovering Denahem and Monkey Mia. Shark Bay area.
Awaking with the excitement of more adventure, the first was less than thrilling - taking down that rotten tent, and that’s where my first thoughts of camping were conflicting and real. But never the less, Val and I were off and heading for Coral Bay, drove in and felt an instant vibe of fun, relaxation and sun. Straight to the beach to soak some up. Went on a glass bottom boat to check out the Ningaloo Reef, but was a little disappointed at the coral, which I now know is generally always brown and green for photosynthesis purposes. My expectations as usually where of a higher calibre and was wanting every colour of the rainbow to drown my eyes like summer rain.
So next was Exmouth, what a shit hole, my goodness I did not love this little town at all. Up early and off to Port Headland where once again I catch up with my Kevie, we worked out we have travelled every state in Australia together except for NT and Tas, along with only two OS countries, but came to realisation that there is yet time. I think this is where the real adventure started, with us doing some shopping driving 100ks out of town to set up camp and find and Kevie leaving Liz's bag in the shopping trolley. Bugger, where our thoughts but nothing could be done till the morning. So, with Liz digging me a hole in the bush (bless her always) kevie sets off in Val back to Port Headland with the retrieval of a hand bag in mind. Liz and I pack up and head further North, determined to find the campsite of campsites and then relish in our glory on Kevies return. This we did an amazing spot called Cape Keralinren just before 80 mile beach. Perched up on a little summit, overlooking a beautiful combination of the ocean and estuary we stopped and set up camp. With my tent in prime position and a room with many views. Kevie returns a short 5 hours latter and parks Val behind his car. We discuss what a great job we have done and then decide it is time for him to do some work and get fire wood. being about 15ks of nasty dirt road to the highway, we take kevs car, he then reverses it straight into Val......I could not look, he could not speak, the words of 'its only a possession' quickly faded from my vocabulary...."What have you done" I squawk at him, then he proceeds to reverse slowly back off her.....out we get and inspect what sounded like pure carnage....Nothing! to Val.... Poor Kevies beast on the other hand.... I was happy again and off we went to collect wood. Off to the rocks to get my $17 telescopic fishing rod wet. With looks of disbelief from kevie who carries down not one but two fandangle ones...watching the sunset as we sip on a beer, the first strike hits and I’m away, my first fish on my new rod....the excitement was all too much as I clambered for the camera, determined to gather proof to my mother who told me I would catch nothing on 'that thing'... laughing hysterically we finally get the poor little thing off and throw him back in. A few more tosses and Kevie and I set back up to camp empty handed. Believing in
YES! on the $17 rodYES! on the $17 rodYES! on the $17 rod

Cape Keralidren
Karma, this lovely man comes walking over and throws us a bag of filleted fish he had caught that day, plenty for all of us. We were very happy with our feast.
I love camping with Kevie, he keeps taking down my tent for me, may have something to do with me farting around with everything else first...Love you kevie...
Off to Broome, WOW this place is stunning, what a fabulous feel to this tiny little town, and the beaches are so pristine and stunning, Water temp was perfect and many a swim to be had while there. The outdoor cinema was a buzz even though the movie lacked.
Not a camp site to be had, so stopped at this trendy hostel and secured a travel companion in Michael for the duration of my trip to Darwin. Not thrilled about travelling through the outback in a Red VW Beetle alone, sort of screams out ‘girl coming’ and the petrol prices of $2.30 were good enough incentive to have some company.
Few fabulous days had in Broome and then it was time to hit the road again, picking up Michael and first destination was Geikie Gorge. This is the sort of stuff I wanted to see, up until now, the whole trip around Australia has brought some amazing sights but this landscape was breathtakingly beautiful. A 7km trek through the sandy beds of the dry gorge had me wishing I had selected a less athletic travel companion, but I made it and felt the reward of accomplishment.
Camped out in a 24hr road side spot, again meeting some great people and some that were nothing short of odd. But interesting all the same.
Up and off the next morning, we discovered a little sign ‘Wuggubun’ aboriginal community, camping welcome. Felling a little adventurous, I thought we should have a look; words cannot describe what the nest 24hrs would bring. This was definitely the highlight of my trip.
Smelling my increasing scent of fear, the dogs on camp were ready to rip me to pieces, I begged the little aboriginal fellows to take them inside, as they looked at me in astonishment. We find out all the secret spots and start out on yet another trek through the scrub to another Gorge, or Python Hole as they called it, serf ice to say I had no intention of swimming in it, although it was 30+ deg and I had not showered in 2 days (circumstance not preference).
Back to set up camp with our own fresh water hole, camp fire, toilet and shower....yay! Stoking up the fire, a care with no lights arrives and Mick gets out. This amazing man had so many stories and kept us laughing for the remainder of the night. Disappearing for a short time he returns with all the ingredients to make Bush Cakes for us, he puts Michael to work and was in disarray at how hopeless he was at it. Not sure if it was the entire experience or just Mick but the Bush Cakes were incredible.
After discovering the secret fishing hole from the kids, we set of the next morning with high hopes of landing a big one, yes, on my $17 telescopic rod.... First cast and Bang! A good size Mangrove Jack, far too large to be throwing back, so back to camp to wack it on the camp fire and eat breakfast. Brilliant. (sorry to my conservation friends)
Next stop was Wyndum where we ate their famous Barra and chips and went to the 5 rivers lookout, which photos do no justice. Pretty huge site.
Then to Kununurra where I explored the Victoria River National Park with their mini Bungle Bungles and a trip to Lake Argyle.
Katherine bound, we camp along the way and wake the next morning, and you guessed it for another hike along the Gregory Park National Park escarpment. It was worth it. And a surprised Michael saying how good I was on my feet....thoughts of ‘shut up’ were looming.
Next highlight were the thermal springs in Katherine, my goodness, how I loved it. Sitting there chatting away to some fellow travellers, I hear this sequence of splashes downstream, looking down, are a group of Aboriginal boys having a bath and washing their hair with Pert. I was in fits of laughter and sent orders for photos to be taken immediately.
Bitter Springs was next at Mataranka, double WOW! I was in a paradise I had always visualised. We snorkelled up stream and felt like you were swimming in the most extravagant aquarium. This is something everyone needs to do...
Katherine Gorge, Nitmiluk National Park. No hiking today, my hip had had enough. So, on a cruise, very glad I did it as we gone to see 3 of the 13 gorges and it was all a little overwhelming. The history and aboriginal culture was abundant but eagerly absorbed.
Ahhhh Kakadu, this is where I was busting to explore. But the involvement of hiking was a must.... so three hikes in one day was accomplished successfully and happily. Highlights were many and included, Yellow River & Ubiri. Teaming with life, the rivers were jumping with fish and crocks, a variety of birds, butterflies and pond lilies.
Arriving in Darwin, I was gratefully welcomed by Michelle and Scotty and taken to the sailing club for sunset drinks. Only the photos can describe it.
Well, a long one but it was necessary, the most phenomenal trip.



Additional photos below
Photos: 82, Displayed: 28


Advertisement



8th August 2008

My darlin Trisha
I enjoyed every minute of your travels.... I felt like i too experienced it. Really nice to hear you are enjoying yourself darlin, take care and keep having fun. A BIG hello from UPS Rentals and ofcourse me!!!! Love Chris x

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb