Northern Territory - 30 minute time change?


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Darwin
October 12th 2007
Published: October 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Fuel Storage TankFuel Storage TankFuel Storage Tank

Huge WWII storage tank turned photo museum
I thought that Cairns was hot, this is worse. I can already tell that I've entered into a little rougher area. When I woke up this morning at 10am and went for breakfast, there were already construction workers sitting at the bars drinking in full work attire. I'd like to think they maybe worked the night shift, but I'm guessing it was there morning break. When I arrived by plane they announced the time and stated there was a 30 minute time change. 30 minutes????? Why not an hour? Whatever, its different up here. Anyway, This post is mainly to tell people about a change of plans.

My original intention was to travel overland from Darwin to Perth via the Gibb River Road. Turns out this "road" turns back into the Gibb River in about 2 weeks with the coming of the wet season. During the dry season, they just drive on the dry river bed. The majority of tour operators have shut down for the season and the only one left does a 9 day tour at a cost of $1595...I passed. I'm now doing a 5 day tour of Kakadu & Litchfield National parks. Then I will be
MuckMuckMuck

The tidal drop here is 8 meters (26'). This is the start of low tide. By the end it'll be kilometers of mud.
flying to Broome and spending 7 days there before I'm off to Perth and hanging out with Paul.

With the heat today I've done a lot of nothing, just laying by the pool. The only thing I did was check out some WWII Fuel Storage tanks. Turns out Darwin was completely destroyed by the Japanese in 1942 with their entrance into the war. It was the first time the Australia homeland had been the site of foreign attack...pretty good record. I'll be seeing more of the Darwin sites on the other end of my trip. I leave tomorrow at 6am and don't return until Wednesday.

I'm writing this after my original entry. I just watched the sunset which are supposed to be pretty amazing in Darwin and this one was okay. But the lightning storm that followed was incredible. You could see it moving across the ocean with literally 100's of strikes over the 45 minutes I watched. I wish the pictures could better represent it. They say it's a sign that the wet season is close, hopefully not too close.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

LightningLightning
Lightning

Lightning storm off the coast. I caught a strike, barely.
Darwin SunsetDarwin Sunset
Darwin Sunset

Sunset over the harbour in Darwin


15th October 2007

I am so envious
It is great to follow your adventures. Drink one for me, maybe two. Liz Audrey and I went to Disneyland. Audrey loves Space Mountain but it doesn't compare to Australian, unless you count Splash Mountain. I think that there is a kangaroo in there. Take care and see you when you get back. I will take you to a show and I can get all the details. Uncle Joe

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb