What to do...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Darwin
November 18th 2006
Published: November 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The CaveneghThe CaveneghThe Cavenegh

The Pool Where We Stayed In Darwin
Woke up this morning determined to sort out how we were going to get to see Ayres Rock. Had a chat and decided to definatly go for the coach to Alice Springs even though it was a 24 hour ride away so we booked that and opted to sort out a tour ro the rock when we got there.

As for the rest of the day, we had a walk around Darwin. I was looking for a mobile phone to purchase but there was not alot saying here. Someone said we should try the Casurina, a shopping centre up town so after sorting out our banking (we now have Aussie bank accounts in the hope of being able to earn some money to put in it!) we got the bus to Casurina.

Twas a big enough shopping centre although not as big as your Bentalls, Whitgift etc so went round looking for the best offer I could find on a phone. They seem to be a bit backwards here when it comes to technology... Models of phone only god knows what year they were made! I opted for a phone that I was none too keen on (it was
Road In Darwin...Road In Darwin...Road In Darwin...

A Bit Of Road...
a Sony Ericsson, at least Id heard of that!) but had to get one so went with it. Fortunatly or unfortunatly I had some problems with my card so couldnt complete the transaction. I was really worried, not because I couldnt get the phone but because my card wasn't allowing me to take any money out! We spent far too much in Thailand but surely not THAT much! I had a panic as I thought I'd now be stranded in Darwin of all places (nice as it is, it aint for me) with no cash flow! Called home and checked my balance, all good.... Tried about 7 ATM's, still no luck. Will try again tomorrow. Fingers crossed!

We didnt go out this evening, what with the cash flow scare I didnt know when I'd have access to my money so we stopped in tonight. Got an early start in the morning anyway so prob a good thing!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Road In Darwin...Road In Darwin...
Road In Darwin...

All the roads look like they do in Neighbours!
The RoxThe Rox
The Rox

A Bar With My Name On It!


27th November 2006

Hey from South AFrica
Hey my chicken and Ria, Just a note to say we have been reading about your exploits from ye olde damn hot South Africa and feel your pain. Havent seen you in ages, but wanted to wish you luck and hope you have a blast which I only know Roxie can do! Miss you chicken. All our love to you both, Lara and Ivor
27th November 2006

hey roxie! he he he trust you to take a picture of that place with your name on it! he he. gosh u have seen wallabys and kangaroos.wish i was there. family says hello! take care. god bless.xxx ps go and look for the cast of neighbours too!

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.025s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb