DARWIN


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Darwin » City of Darwin
January 22nd 2008
Published: January 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

After a late flight I arrived in humid Darwin and caught the Airport Shuttle Bus to Frogs-Hollow Backpackers. Upon arrival a friendly guy from Amsterdam had a big chat to me about his travels through the countries that I am about to visit. I made my way to my dorm and was worried I would wake up those in there. I need not have worried, as the dorm was alive with the chatter of 8 friendly Indians who are up here to work for a month before heading back to university in Melbourne. We talked well into the morning before I finally crashed into bed after being awake for nearly 24 hours (had had an early start because I still had to pick up my Chinese Visa for the trip - on the day of departure - perfect time management!).

Darwin is like a sleepy country Australian town, rather than a capital city. I wandered around the CBD and to all the war memorial sites, as this was something I really wanted to do because my Grandfather served here during WWII. Darwin seems like a nice place and has no doubt helped me prepare for the humidity I am about to experience in Singapore later today.

Brons

Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0236s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb