Darwin


Advertisement
Published: August 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post


I had a few days in Darwin before heading to Kakdu National Park (something that I haev been really looking forward to!). I also met back up with my partner in crime from Airlie Beach, Kelly which was great! I really liked Darwin as a city, it's small and laid back with nice beachs and a great nightlife! The weather was perfect, 30 degrees in the day and cool at night. I could not imagine being here in the build up (when it reaches 50 degrees and 95% humidity) or the full on wet season though! It was probably the best time of year to be there as you could also swim in the sea which isn't possible for 9 months of the year.

Kelly and I timed our trip to Kakdu so that we would be in town for a Thursday night for the Mindil Beach night market. Everyone we had spoken to had said it was a must do in Darwin and it really was great! It was a huge Asian market selling the usual trinkets and gifts but it was mainly delicious and cheap food! We gorged ourselves on so many different things and then joined the throngs to watch the beautiful sunset. The perfect way to end our stay in Darwin!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0785s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb