Week 12 cont. Darwin and sweat.


Advertisement
Published: May 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yo Blogster,

So where am I up to? Just re read some of my entries and they are quite good, even if I do say so myself. I am in a bit of a giddy mood today. Dont know why, perhaps its a full moon or something.

Anyway, will fill you in from Port Douglas.

Spent the morning sunbathing on the beach at PD desperately trying to recoup the fact that I had lost all my meagre tan having staying inside so much at Airlie beach. Felt really relaxed and chilled out (must be the hippyesque clothes I had donned that morning), and decided to have lunch in a really upmarket restaurant. Ordered the cheapest thing on the menu and water.Classy! Was in heaven.

Later that evening I caught my flight from Cairns with no problems (apart from the fact that the security guard wouldn't let me take my penknife on board- bummer), and arrived in Darwin a few hours later. Was assaulted, yes assaulted by the heat, even at half 8 in the evening, and just knew that from this day forth would have to cope with copious amounts of sweat and limp hair. Not a look I was relishing.

Spent the next day walking at snails pace around Darwin. Was physically incapable of walking any faster due to the heat- about 35 degrees. Had breakfast and lunch out due to the nasty facilities at the youth hostel where I was staying.

Darwin itself is fairly uninspiring, probably due to the fact that most of it was destroyed by cyclone Tracy 20 years ago and so I think it seems that it was rebuilt in a bit of a hurry without much thought to aesthetics. But its fairly chilled and I liked it as it appealed to my newly discovered hippy side. Went out for a dinner with a really nice Irish girl called Michelene who was a good laugh and totally on my wavelength which is a rare find.

The next day, I was determined not to let the heat beat me, so took off on the bus to the local museum, which was very interesting and had air con. In the evening went to Mindil beach Markets and sat on the beach eating a Thai take out along with obout twenty thousand other people which slightly spoilt it, but I think it was obviously the thing to do. People took picnics and wine etc and watched the sun set like they had never seen it before and then clapped when it did set. Bizarre. Was pretty though, but I dont think it warrented a round of applause. Mooched around the market stalls but refrained from buying anything as most of the things were from Asia where I am heading next.

Heading to Kakadu next which is what I have been looking forward to doing the most in Oz.

Laters
F x

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb