Kevin Alive and well in Ngkurr


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Northern Territory » Arnhemland
August 2nd 2010
Published: August 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everyone ,
I'm here at Ngukurr ready for my second week teaching. I will have a year 6 this week as opposed to all the 4-5-6, up to 30 kids from two classes. It was all too busy last week but there's apparrently anew teacher taking one of the classes this week . The trip here was a fine adventure with two river crossings and 80 or so k's of dirt road. The community is pretty quiet and there are interesting things happening with the Australian Jazz Orchestra collaborating with local musicians and recording the results. Theyr'e destined for Europe and New York in the not too distant future. Fantastic stuff. I'm yet to meet the musos. There's an arts festival here in a few weeks when Paul Grabowski brings the band up again so it should be really exciting.
It's all very brief, I know and I'll write more detail soon but I'll put the photos in so you can all have a look.

Advertisement



4th August 2010

Hi Kev, Glad you've arrived safely. Good to hear from you. Check your email as I'm sending a private message. Love Mum
7th August 2010

Kevin on walkabout
G'day Kevin, I've been following the travel blog,even when I was in Vietnam. It's good to see the photos that you all include in the blog as it shows some of what you're seeing and doing on the road. Your time at this school looks interesting and I'm sure they'll want you to stay a while. How long will you work there? When will the wet come and trap you in the NT? All the music happenings do sound exciting. Catch a big barra for me. Enjoy. Kim.

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb