East Coast Australia - Byron Bay to Port Macquarie, Surfs Up!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales
October 27th 2006
Published: November 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

G-day.. How's it going? Sweeeeeeeeeet.

As soon as I arrived in Byron Bay I felt strongly attracted to it. It's a pretty chilled out small beach town set up for the few thousands locals who can call themselves locals because they live there. The inhabitants are a mix of surfers, hippie's, arty types, old folk, homeless people, bums and just your everyday Aussie's. A popular surfing town with 7 different beaches surrounding the main point. There are therefore loads of VW vans, surf boards, art shops, cafes and some pretty cool hangouts. Nice.

I decided to stay at a place called the Arts Factory. I don't know the best way to describe it... It's kind of like a factory for the arty types. A large complex set in tropical grounds about a mile away from the main beach. There are loads of weird things you can sleep in... Teepees, funky tents, weird little huts, and just dorms which I went for as they were cheapest and I didn't bring a tent. I checked out the other places though and they looked pretty neat. There's a pretty nice bar called the Buddha bar, a sauna, healing room, surf cafe, gardens for twirling those twirly things around and a lake. There's always loads of weird stuff going on... yoga, didgeridoo making, people playing guitars. I guess it's good for people who like the alternative lifestyle... or as I would call them.. God Damn Hippie's!

And so on my first day in Byron Bay I headed out through the car park of the Arts factory, down the quiet streets of the neighbourhood, past the graffiti covered chimney and parked up VW vans, over the railway track next to the railway station which never has any trains but always seems to have someone waiting, and onto the main street to check out some of the shops... Some neat clothes shops, surf shops, bakery's and the odd art/photo gallery shop worth a look. And on my first day in this chilled out place called Byron Bay, the weather wasn't that great... It was pretty grey and cloudy. But not to worry... I've got a little feeling inside my crazy little head that some perfect sunny rays are on their way. So I headed to the main beach with a picnic I created with the aid of Mr Woolworth's, sat on the rocks and watched some locals surfing the wreck... The area around a half submerged ship wreck in that very wet place they call the sea!

After a stroll around on this grim afternoon I headed back to the factory to see what was happening. I decided to treat myself to a Sunday lunch.. Roast beef, roast potatoes, Yorkshire puddings, and the rest. The first I've had in months. Not the best I've ever had but a wonderful magic feeling when that food hit my belly! Then it was time for a little drinky from my favourite silver bag. The perfect start to a Sunday night with a rocket scientist called Tim. And so, myself and the rcoket scientist headed out on this chilly Sunday eve to get some drink and watch the football in a beach bar to the sounds of some electro twinged music mixed up by a DJ with long hair and flairs. Safe as...

The next day my previous thoughts had transpired into something that I would describe as 'a lovely sunny day'. A perfect day for a trip to the beach. After a hearty breakfast of banana pancakes piled up high with generous splashings of maple
PeterPopper, Angels beachPeterPopper, Angels beachPeterPopper, Angels beach

It's a lot easier on sand!
syrup I hired a bodyboard for free from the factory, chucked on my rashie and shorts and headed into the sea to try catch some waves. It was pretty cold in the sea and I could have done with a wetsuit... The water gets a lot colder as you head down south. But anyway, a fun day by any means and by the time the late afternoon arrived I was starving. Time to cook up! After munchin out on some homemade pasta it was time for goon and time to enjoy the talent contest!

Every Monday at the factory there's this talent contest run by this crazy Aussie guy called Cockatoo Paul, (he walks around with a cockatoo on his shoulder). Cockatoo Paul is also a bit of bush man, plays the didgeridoo and hangs out with the Aboriginal people. Anyway, the people in this contest where all amazing musicians.. There were these Japanese people playing the didgeridoo and made some strange and fantastic noises with the thing. They were pretty special. Pretty futuristic. Japoriginies! Anyway, after this show and after sufficient amounts of goon it was time to hit some local backpacker bars. Slightly messy. All good fun.
PeterPopperPeterPopperPeterPopper

My first attempts...


The next day I slept in pretty late due to the previous nights drinking activities. The weather was absolutely amazing on this day. After another hearty pancake breaky it was time to go surfing. Now I've been bodyboarding a fair bit and have attempted to surf a few times but thought I might as well get some lessons whilst I'm here and learn properly. Mojo surf picked me up in their surf van with some other keen volunteers and we headed down the coast to Spot X. Actually it was a place called Flat Rock, near Crescent Head. One instructor was a pro surfer, the other a younger guy with typical long blonde surfer hair. Anyway, we parked up the wheels and went on a mission to check out the surf. Yes, there was some! Perfect! The stuff you learn on is just the mushy white stuff after the waves have already broken. once you have mastered the art of standing up you can then attempt to catch proper waves. The boards we learnt on were also pretty large and float pretty easily to make it easier, although easy is probably not the best word to describe it!

After some technique practise on the sand we headed out into the ocean. I managed to stand up on my first go which was pretty neat. After an hour or so of practise, falling off, wiping out, and standing up a good few times we headed in for some oranges like half time in a school football match. Then we were back in for more practise. I was really starting to enjoy myself and didn't really wanna go home when we were called back in. I guess I was pretty exhausted though. Tiring stuff. Top day! Loved it!

Back at the factory I had some grub and some goon and then headed out with Avi an Israeli guy. We headed to some bars and danced to some pretty cheesy music before eventually making it back at some late hour.

The next day it was time to go surfing again. After a DIY breakfast Woolworth's style I was picked up in the wheels again, this time buy some different dudes. Whilst the weather was clear and well sunny there was a strong wind blowing southwards. We therefore decided to hit another spot known as Angels beach. Now these guy's gave us a bit more instruction than on the previous day and helped us with our technique more. So into the ocean we went to practise. All was going well and at the orange break I got upgraded to a slightly more advanced board. A lot harder and more painful if it whacks you in the face. It was a bit of a mission even walking with the boards on this day as the wind was so strong! Anyway, this board was slightly more challanging at first but I started to get the hang of it znd was able to practise some technique.

And then, in a flash... it was over. I had a mint time and was sad to stop. It must take loads and loads and loads of practise to get good at this. Maybe I will have more time in the future and will be able to play in the waves again... hope so. We headed back to the factory where I chilled out around the grounds for the rest of the night for the next morning I would be getting up at 4.00am for a sunrise trip!

Unfortunately when I got up and went down to reception at 4.00am in the morning there was nobody there. Something went wrong, somewhere. Maybe I got the day wrong. All a bit confusing really. Oh well, back to bed for me!

I awoke in time to check out of this crazy place at 10.00am, put my bags in storage, cooked up an omelette with Avi's eggs then headed out on a mission...

And so, for the last time, for this trip anyway, I headed out through the car park of the Arts factory, down the quiet streets of the neighbourhood, past the graffiti covered chimney and parked up VW vans, over the railway track next to the railway station which never has any trains but always seems to have someone waiting, and onto the main street. Down the main street I went, past the surf shops, cafes and bars and to that place they call the beach...

I walked right along to the end of the beach to a part the surfers call, 'The Pass'. After checking out some kite surfers, and observing some fine views from the top of the rocks I headed off on the 4km circular walking track from the Captain Cook lookout. It took me on a coastal track with some lovely views of ocean and beaches. Passing the Watego's beache's I headed to Cape Byron the most easterly point of the bay. As I headed up towards the lighthouse I was lucky enough to see some dolphins swimming by. PeterPopper likes the dolphins. :-) Good swimmers.

At the picturesque lighthouse, built by some nice builders in 1901, I treated myself to a mighty fine ice cream! I haven't had ice cream for a while but this ice cream certainly was tasty! The homemade amazing tasting yum yum yum variety! And so, I continued on with some top views of the long Tallow beach, crowded with surfers and through some forests where there were plenty of bush turkey's to be seen! And that was about it. I headed back along the beach to Byron town, grabbed some munchies, headed back to the factory, picked up my bags and hitched a ride to the bus stop in the factory van.

Goodbye Byron Bay. I could have easily stayed here for longer. It's a pretty cool, chilled out place! Loved it!

The journey to Port Macquarie took about 6 hours. I arrived after midnight and had to walk to the backpacker place in the dark attempting to follow the map I had. I did make it eventually, found the key that was waiting for me in the telephone box and headed to my dorm for some sleep. The next morning I checked out straight away and put my stuff in storage. One day in the Port is enough me thinks! And besides, the sky is grey and dingy and its about to rain.

And it did... lots! There wasn't really much I could do apart from stroll about the shops and play on the net until the rain withdrew. By this time it was the afternoon and time for a pie! After my delicious Moroccan lamb pie with mash, peas and gravy I headed off to the Koala hospital. Exactly on Que at 3.00pm a nice man arrived to take us around the grounds and show us the koala's. Many koala's are injured in bush fire's and from dog attacks and get brought to this place for some TLC. It was pretty interesting and a good way to kill a dingy afternoon. The cute koala's were also pretty
Van, Byron BayVan, Byron BayVan, Byron Bay

Nice wheels
cool.

I headed back via the coast to check out some of the beaches. Not the best beaches I've seen but beaches never look as good when the sky is grey and its raining! Some good surf here though!

After a well deserved pizza I headed to the cinema for something different to do. By the time the film finished it was about half eleven. I had to run to the backpacker's grab by bags and journey on back to the bus station to catch the bus at midnight!

And so, I boarded the bus armed with my sleeping bag, a bottle of coke and a bag of sweets for the 6 hour journey to Sydney!

If there's one place I want there to be good weather it's Sydney. So it's goodnight from me. Fingers crossed, good luck and goodbye.

See ya when I see ya!

Respect to the ocean.

Peace Out.

Over and Out.

PeterPopper.



























Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Hut, The Arts FactoryHut, The Arts Factory
Hut, The Arts Factory

Safe as houses!


Tot: 0.172s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 16; qc: 86; dbt: 0.1108s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.6mb