Temora 2004


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales
June 19th 2004
Published: May 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Sunday, 19 June
My job for the next week was in the central NSW town of Temora.
I waited until 9 am before starting what turned out to be a five hundred and forty kilometre journey. It took about three hours before I crossed into New South Wales, near the towns of Albury and Wodonga.
I left the Hume Freeway twenty five kilometres out of Albury and joined the Olympic Highway and drove north towards the town of Culcairn. The weather was overcast but it only rained a few times as the road took me through the towns of Henty and The Rock. Near Wagga the road by passes the township and I was on the last eighty kilometres into Temora.
I had pre booked my accommodation at the Goldtera Motor Inn. I know the proprietor and we shook hands when I walked into the reception. It was three in the afternoon and I was starting to feel the effects of driving six hours without stopping.
It didn’t take long to settle into the spacious room and make myself a coffee and relax. There was still three hours before I could walk across the road to the Ex Serviceman's Club. The Chinese lady recognised me from the many visits I have bestowed on this establishment. I ordered a meal, sat down and only waited a few minutes before the drink waiter arrived and took my order.
I was alone in the Bistro for a while, but slowly other people arrived and I observed what I had previously explained was repeated for the other patrons.
Back at the motel I watched Pay TV which included the “Discovery and History Channels” If I wasn't watching those the “Movie Channels” got a workout. Joo Lian phoned around seven thirty that evening and we talked for about an hour. Slept well.

Wednesday, 22 June
The sessions on Monday and Tuesday went extremely well. The staff at the centre really spoil me. Allowing me to organise the children in such a way that I always get good shots and the morning is over before I realise it. Today's morning session was even easier, three children and one group photo.
When I got back to the motel, Ian suggested we go for a flight. He had arranged with his mate, who also had a plane to go up as well. Robert was my pilot and I asked him if I could shoot some cutaway shots first. He agreed and told me where to stand as he took off. From my advantage spot on the side of the runway I started the video camera as he taxied into position. At the end of the runway he came to a stop before he gunned the aircraft down the strip towards me. When his plane was beside my position it left the ground. He flew a circuit of the airport then landed. Again, I was in a perfect position as he touched down.
Next it was my turn to board the plane. Once the seat belt was secure, we took off. Ian had already departed the field and we set off to catch him. Robert's plane was faster and we soon sighted him in the distance. We did two passes, on the first I took about eight still shots, each one closer until we over took him and circled for another run. This time I had the video camera going and got more great images as we gained on his position. When we were beside each other Ian banked his plane and we followed.
Ian decided to head back to the airport. Robert suggested we follow the high clouds for a while, our elevation was about 4,000 feet and I took more photos as the clouds flashed by. The next suggestion from my pilot. “Do you want to do a 360 degree roll”. I had never experienced such a manoeuvre and jumped at the chance. Making sure my two cameras were secure we flew straight for a while, distant clouds getting closer. Then the nose came up and the world spun around in front of my eyes. With the world right side up we flew on some more before repeating the manuvour. It was an incredible feeling. The remaining flight was over farming country and the landing was smooth.

Friday, 24 June
The weather for the last two days in Temora was wet and I spent most of the time in the motel unit playing with my new laptop. Thursday night before having dinner at the club I spent an hour with Ian having a drink.
Back to Melbourne today and the weather hasn’t improved.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0202s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb