Paper Airplanes


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales
June 12th 2012
Published: June 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

PavolvaPavolvaPavolva

This is pavolva!
Happy first day of the week for me 😊

Today was my first day of my head week! With it being my first "head week", it's pretty similar to the past couple weeks other than I lead a few lessons and some songs. I read the children a book about snow and they were very interested in this! It's neat that the children are still aware of what snowpants, boots, mittens are when they don't ever need to use them. The title of my blog "Paper Airplanes" is because the Australian preschool children truly are fascinated with paper airplanes. The children enjoy flying, racing, and making the airplanes. It's a fun, creative experiment for 4 year olds. And rather cheap! I re-leanred how to make a paper airplane myself....(Yes, I forgot, and I hope all of you are whipping out a piece of paper trying to make one right now.)

Lastnight I tired an Australia dessert: Pavlova. Pavlova is a mixure of eggwhites and sugar for the base, and than coated with a whip cream, and fruit on top. In my opinoin, it tastes very similar to astronaunt food (for those of you who have had astronaut food.) For those of you who have not...it's a merigune dessert with a crisp crust and soft-light air filled inside. It's full of sugar, but tasteful ofcourse.

Interesting fact: What is equal to the Australian version of the ACT is called the A-tar. It's based on a 100 point system.

Advertisement



12th June 2012

Into the wild blue younder
You will have to teach us how o make paper airplanes too. A very pretty 'presentation' of pavolva. Sounds too sweet though. Of course you will have a grat 'head' week. The kids will love you even more. We love you too, G a G
13th June 2012

Gold Coast & paper airplanes
Sara, Really enjoying your blogs, Sounds like you are all having such a good time and wonderful experiences exploring Australia. Loved hearing about the foods, storesrestaurants & nite life. The hostels are such a good way for you to visit all these places. The kids in your class must really enjoy getting to know all about Minn and paper airplanes. You write very well Sara. Thank you & love you. Gramma Pat
13th June 2012

the dessert looks good. paper airplanes are easy to make--yes preschoolers love them

Tot: 0.239s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0853s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb