Did you visit your chemist today?


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales
June 5th 2012
Published: June 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I know I have written those numerous times, but I can't write it enough that the days here are getting better and better. I am so thankful that the other teachers Kelly and I are working with are so nice. It helps that we are able to talk to them at work and learn about the center, and the culture over here in Australia. Today a teacher was telling us about the Aboriginal Australians. I have seen the word and heard the word "Aboriginal" numerous times since I've been here and I've been curious to learn more about them since I really had no idea. The Aboriginal Australians are the indigienous people of Australia. They have also made predictions years ago, that a mountain peak in Australia is going to slowly going to become destyoed. Today, this mountain peak is being constructed on and is being destyoed. It's fascinating to learn about this! It's knowledge I would never research myself so learning from an outside source and through experience is an engaging way for myself to become interested! The teacher who informed us of all of this is my coworker in my room with Whales/Turtles.

I also learned that the Wiggles are the top grossing band in Australia. For those of you who aren't aware of who the Wiggles are...they are a children's themed band who perform live concerts for young children. Interesting that a children's aimed band is at the top!

We were doing our normal hike up the hills back home to mum's house today, and a teacher saw us and offered a ride home. She said to us "Girls this is such a long walk get in my car!" The walk is long (I still have not yet figured out how far it is, but I estimate it's nearly a mile.) I'm very used to the walk already that it seems like nothing to us. I now declare that it's true...Australians really are nice people 😊

Today was the last day of our 7 week trial membership at Goonellabah Fitness Center. I'm really bummed about this! The fitness center is a perfect location for us because it's on our walk to work. There's a very large chance we will be buying some passes to workout there. On a positive note, I went to zumba class and it was all that I thought it would be! For those of you who aren't aware, I am addicted to Zumba. For me to zumba in Australia was great. I haven't had that much energy in a zumba class in so long. The week and a half of no zumba has added up! The "Cool down" song for zumba was the same "cool down" song played back home at my Zumba class. Ironic, yet symbolic I think. It reminded me that home is never too far away. (So yes, grandma and grandpa--my workouts did get better!)

Aussie slang of the day: "Chemist" means pharmicist. (A teacher at the center mentioned she was late because she was at the "Chemist"...my first thought: she had a second job as a scientist. Turns out it's just an Aussie word for picking up your medication.)

New aussie food of the day: Well, truth is, it's not a new food but rather a new name for food. We had coconut, pineapple and banana muffins for tea time today. Back home you might call these "Coco-pineapple banana muffins." Here, in Australia, they are hummingbird muffins.

I've only been here a week, yet it feels longer because I've learned heaps about traveling, myself, the girls I'm traveling with, and the land down unda. I'm enjoying my time, and thankful that each day has a brighter sun shining!

Advertisement



5th June 2012

education
We have learned a lot too. You are a great 'teacher. Love, G & G
6th June 2012

You are certainly learning alot of new slang for things--lots of fun to read your comments Sarah--love it---You even have an aussie reading your blog--how about that MATE!!!!! love you Sarah

Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.069s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb