Bronte Beach, and Leura


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales
February 13th 2011
Published: February 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It has been one week since leaving America and I feel like I have already done and seen so much.

My last full day in Sydney was spent exploring new territory. Caught a ride with Betsi and Skip into the CBD.
Took the train to Bondi Beach...a wide expanse of gorgeous white sand, and lots of surfers.
Walked along the pathway and enjoyed the strange dramatic rock formations. Watched the surf rescue teams training in the ocean, swimming in the rough windy water.

Passed by the famous Icebergs...a salt water pool situated right on the rocky ocean shore. Decided that not going in to that pool was not an option...so, I paid five dollars and swam in my t-shirt and undies. Pretty cool pool!

Walked up Bondi town...checked out the butcher shop that was advertising kangaroo meat and crocodile. So, I went in an bought me a couple of slabs....ha, not really...but I did take a couple pictures!

On the way back into Sydney, I stopped off at the Saturday Paddington Market. Enjoyed a beef sausage with onions, the two guitarist musicians, and my two nice lunch mates that I was sitting with.

Found a 'rolly polly' suitcase at the local 'Vinnie' (St. Vincent's Thrift store) store...so, now I am no longer a snail with all my belongings on my back. I am now just rolling along!!

Back in town, I checked out 'The Rocks' and then, checked out the Flying Foxes (HUGE bats) at the Botanical Gardens.
Ferry back to Manly to connect with Jane, Julie, Betsi, and Skip.

Back on Scotland Island we all just chilled with some wine. Later that night we went to a fun birthday party with lots of good food, and more wine. Home late...fun taking the golf cart back on the dirt roads. Betsi is a good driver!

In the morning, me and my wine headache woke up. Ugh. Had a quick yummy brekkie and Betsi skiffed me over where I caught the bus to Central Train Station.

Thank you Skip and Betsi for a truly wonderful stay at your comfortable home on Scotland Island. That was truly an experience I will remember forever!!

Train to Leura was beautiful. It was nice to put my feet up, listen to my music, and watch Australia go by. Up in Leura, Janet picked me up. Staying with Janet and Lloyd for the night (Lloyd was Daniel's old UCSB philosophy professor). They live a a beautiful and cozy house, with steller views of the green green green trees!

Janet drove me around and showed me what should have been jaw dropping scenery. But, unfortunately the fog monster has decided to rule the day. We did stop for a nice coffee/tea and apple pie with whipped cream and ice cream at Mt. Victoria. So no views for me. I did end up with a photo of the cover of the Blue Mountains Travel Guide. So, at least I can show you how beautiful it is.

Later that day they had a little happy hour party their new neighbors!

After that we sat down to play Scrabble. Janet and Lloyd have a different and more challenging was to play. So, that made it fun...but a little harder. Janet won and Lloyd and I tied.

At 8:30 pm we went out to a lovely restaurant in Leura called 'The Silks'. The food was beautiful prepared and tasted delicious. I shared a duck terrine with Janet, and then had steak, mushrooms, potatoes, and gravy for my entree. Thank you Janet and Lloyd for treating me to probably the best meal I will have in Australia. You have both been very gracious hosts.

Off on the train today back to Sydney. Meeting up with old friend Johnno and his friends who have rented a sailboat for the next 5 days. We will sail around the Sydney area!

Will probably make my next blog entry after that!!

Cheerio til then!!


Advertisement



14th February 2011

The Blog
Love to follow you Kristina! Would like to be at your side right there in Sydney! It´s freezing cold here; 15 degrees below zero (Celsius). We were out walking on the lakes yesterday and then went to cinema and Kings speech - great movie!

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.039s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.027s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb