D-Day Tomorrow!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales
March 26th 2009
Published: March 26th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Peter packing!Peter packing!Peter packing!

Peter packing for the trip
Well, D-day is tomorrow! I am supposed to be packing and cleaning the house; there is a mountain of miscellaneous items that have to be packed spread all over the house. A little voice inside my head (a.k.a you Gwen) is telling me "do as much as you can as early as you can", but I can' t believe how quickly this trip has snuck up on us. It was about a year ago that Peter and I decided to go and months and months of counting down has turned into one miniscule (but much needed) sleep. Excitement is brimming, as Peter has booked us into a hostel very near to Buckingham Palace and I have checked what in-flight movies we will have on offer - can't wait to watch "Slumdog Millionairre".

What am I looking forward to most this trip?

My top five:

1. Watching "Les Miserables" in West End.

2. Visitng the British Museum and the Pergamon Museum in Berlin for that matter.

3. POMPEII - this should be at the top of my list!

4. Salzburg

5. Bamberg

But most of all, I'm just really looking forward to sharing this experience with Peter. It will be great having shared memories! There are so many other things I could include in my top five, such as Berlin, Amsterdam etc....all waiting there for exploration!


Peter's top five:

1. Sightseeing in London

2. Climbing the Eiger (or maybe just looking at it)

3. Riding on trains through German countryside

4. Seeing the German lifestyle

5. Not being at work


I'm trying to pack light. My first attempt at packing was not so successful. I ended up with a very full backpack and my hair-dryer wouldn't even fit in. THANKS TO THE LOVELY MEGAN - who showed up with a care package - very thoughtful - bought Peter some 'Clinker' lollies, tissues and wet-wipes. She bought me a mini-travel hair straightener; gum and two lovely warm long sleeve tops. These will come in very handy.

Hopefully, the next time I write will be from LONDON!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.266s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb